Tybee Island


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia
April 9th 2022
Published: May 5th 2022
Edit Blog Post

One question I frequently get is "How do you decide where to go?" I travel by choice, and I work remote so I can do this but nothing is incentivizing me to travel full time or guide me where to go work-wise. So I get to choose 100% where I spend my time. My 2 large overarching goals are to see all the national parks and spend time in each region/state of the US (I probably won't spend an entire month in every New England state lol!). Before embarking on this adventure I had spent my entire life on the west coast so a long term goal was to head East. Then winter came so the Southeast looked the most favorable. Now that spring is coming- Florida was getting a little warm so it's time to head roughly up to the Northeast. Getting anywhere from Key West and South Florida was going to be quite a drive! So I've spent this week off of work and doing an actual vacation- visiting key west and Universal. The last few days I needed to get far north from Orlando so I chose a stop over in Tybee Island Georgia.

It's a cute little beach island outside of Savannah. Has some cute shops and restaurants. While there I was able to compare Fort Jefferson to Fort Pulaski. They were both built at similar time periods but with much different resources and Fort Pulaski is much smaller. I enjoyed both forts for different reasons. Pulaski is much better maintained today with lots of information signs and replica cannons. But Fort Jefferson had that rugged remote island feel and is at least twice as big.

While in Georgia I was also able to go for a short "hike" (I can't wait to see elevation again!!!) at Skidaway island state park. Georgia is the first state that I've returned to after spending a month there- although I was further south before. It's interesting re-introducing the cultural differences. I was able to confirm my ability to identify a Georgia accent from an Alabama accent for example- didn't know the difference in 2021 😊 It definitely is time to head North though!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb