My First Day In Atlanta Office


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Marietta
July 31st 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


GIVE ME REDGIVE ME REDGIVE ME RED

DID U LIKED IT
It was my first day In Atlanta office. I was very curious to know how offices are in US. How people will react seeing me. How things will go with me. I got up early got ready at around 8:30 but Amit was not ready. so we started at around 9:30. I was afraid first day and how they will react but others assured me. I entered office Saif took me to Kathy she was HR but was newly joined so took me to Bonnie (In facilities) to get my access card and then to Ruth (HR head). By name I was expecting her to be a guy but she was a old aged lady. She told me about office, facilities, handed over my much awaited Bank OF America Debit Card. Then she again took me to bonnie she handed me over my access card and took me to the camera room so that she can get a photo of mine to be fixed at my excess card. I always believed that I dont look good laughing in pics so I was avoiding to laugh but she made me laugh and the picture was really good. Then she took me to Davinder (my product Director). The same guy who took my interview in Ciena. He met with me very warmly first of all he took me to cafeteria and helped me in making tea. It was tough making tea as there were around 16 flavours of Tea and coffee together there were 4 variety of sugar and 3 varieties of milk.Then he introduced me to everybody in the meantime I saw somebody who was looking at me and was waiting for me to come to him. He was Alan I always had chat with him on Yahoo but never saw him. He was my mentor and my Onsite Buddy with whom I need to work. He was a real gentleman. After I met everybody Davinder told me that I will be getting a desktop not a laptop. I was depressed how I will chat with my friends but I think Davinder understood my feelings and arranged for a laptop though I got 3 days after i joined. The first day I setted up sun blade 150 workstation but that was very slow. I complained about that so Davinder asked Tim (The solaris admin) to give me an U45. That I got next day. We started back at aroud 6 and by then i was used to of US work culture.

Advertisement



4th September 2006

Nice to read abt your journey to US
Hi Anoop, First of all Many many congratulations for your first onsite assignment. Who else can know better than me that how much you prayed for getting this Videsh Yatra:-)) So make most of it. Learn alot and n'joy alot. I read your blog completely. I can make out how keen you were to experiance each and every big or small thing hapening to you on this foreign land. Hope you had memorable experiances of your life time. Keep updating us with all such happenings at your side. And lastly I am sorry for not wishing you on your B'Day. Wish you a Belated Happy B'Day!!! Cheers, Vipan

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb