Back in Time


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

What are twin sisters for if not to remind you that you’ve forgotten something, e.g. a homework assignment, parents’ wedding anniversary, birthday of a common sibling, etc? In this case, my sister pointed out to me yesterday that I’d forgotten to tell you what we did during our two day visit to Alexandria (as did Rusty today). For fear of retribution (mainly from my sister) in the form of a low or no-value future Christmas gift, I will provide a brief summary of our activities there. I should point out that the ‘no-value gift’, also known as the ‘no-gift habit’, was practice that allowed me to make it more comfortably through the holiday season during at least one of my college years, a fact that would not be lost in my sister’s memory…

…our visit to Alexandria was nice. Saturday night (the 16th) Sherry and I cooked up the vegetables that we harvested from Mike and Seaonas’ garden (see photo). We prepared the zucchini and squash according to Seaonoa’s instructions, sautéed with some garlic and red onion, then tossed this with some feta cheese. Again, yum. Later we all went out for a drink in old town Alexandria with my friend and fraternity brother Rusty (see photos).

On Sunday I met for brunch with my friend Steve from UVa, who after moving around the South on countless fiber cable and other engineering-type projects, has happily settled in NOVA (that’s NOrthern VirginiA for those that don’t know). Afterwards, Sherry and I headed to Washington, DC (sorry, I just can’t say ‘The District’ without thinking of something else) to check out the natural history museum. We saw:


Mostly we just saw mammals, mainly human as it was Sunday and the Smithsonian museums are free. We then took a walk around the sculpture garden outside the art museum, can’t remember which one (see photos), before having dinner w/ my sister and Rusty at Café Luna near Dupont Circle. Sunday = half price pizzas.

That brings us up to Monday (the 18th) when we departed for Charlottesville and Chapel Hill.

… … … … … … … … … … … …

Yesterday, the 19th after leaving Chapel Hill we stopped for lunch with my high school friend Eric in Charlotte.
Iraq Embassy, WashingtonIraq Embassy, WashingtonIraq Embassy, Washington

Just up P Street from Du Pont Circle
Sherry and I both attended his wedding to Dana last Halloween weekend (photos on file but unavailable). Eric holds the distinction of being the only one of my close high school friends that is currently collecting a paycheck! We arrived in Atlanta, Lawrenceville actually, around 7:30 pm.

-Cory


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Rusty and CoryRusty and Cory
Rusty and Cory

At Vermillions in Old Town Alexandria
Rusty's ElementRusty's Element
Rusty's Element

Perfect for shuttling around the ladies


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb