Don't Fall Into My Soup


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
September 2nd 2010
Published: June 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 24.1267, -80.6836

Our third, and final day at sea. I'd feared the waves would pick up as we neared the Bahamas, and got closer to Hurricane Earl, who was moving up past Florida, but the worry was for naught. If it weren't for the pictures on the news channel, we'd never have known there was a storm not too far away. Both of us spent the morning in the spa area, as Anna had her hair styled (no time for a back-to-school cut in Virginia before we left, so we had it done on board), and I had my final bootcamp class. At least the pain in my legs was gone by today's workout. We lost a couple class members who chose (or couldn't) return, but joining us was someone I'd never seen before. He and I were next to each other, and the more I looked, I knew I'd seen him somewhere. It then dawned on me that he was one of the Blue Men. Very cool. He said they use the gym a lot to stay in shape (the show is very physical), and he tries to join the bootcamp whenever there are slots. He joked that there is always room in the last class. ;-)

After lunch we hit the pool and waterpark yet again, and after cleaning up, we went down to watch another game show; this one was a take off on "Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader," which was appropriate given Anna's age. The short answer to that question for me, however, was "no." My astronomy is in need of refreshing.

Our big event this day was the Cirque Dreams show, which is a Cirque du Soleil production, in which they put on a show with singing and various acrobatics in the center of a round theater, while the audience is being served dinner. Anna and I were seated a table for two right on the edge of the performance area. At most times, I could reach out my arm and touch any number of the players. It was, however, a bit disconcerting when they ran a tightrope across the theater, and the tightrope walker was literally inches above my shoulder. Yikes. The food was forgettable, but the show was quite good, and being so close was an unexpected treat.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb