Day 78 East Palatka to St Augustine 32 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
December 9th 2008
Published: December 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The End 36 secs
Dec 05. The final leg of the journey has arrived and really all I am going to do is cycle 32 miles along perfectly flat roads, there should have been some great climb at the end of the route followed by a glorious 10 mile hair-raising descent to the ocean but its not the destination its the journey eh.
The weather is very kind, another brisk but sunny morning and I'm away from Palatka by 8.30am, the journey is pretty uneventful and before I know it I am in St Augustine. The claim to fame of St Augustine is that is America's oldest permanently settled European city, founded in 1565 by the Spanish, some forty years before Jamestown Virginia (oldest permanently settled english settlement).
I get through the town quicker than I expected and suddenly I am at the junction of Menendez and King Street, the end of the ACA route ! there are road works, lots of traffic, noise and a bridge to Anastasia Island. This is no way to end a transcontinental bike ride! I cycle on over the bridge on to Anastasia and after a few miles I am at last at the beach facing the Atlantic ocean, this is the end, the wheel is dunked in the ocean and I take a little time to contemplate. The beach is beautiful and desolate save a lady called Diane who assists with the photos, there is a beach snack bar where I take time to chat with the owner Joe who has seen many other cyclists finish their route here. Its been a long way from San Diego 3242 miles on my odometer.
The next entry on this blog will be the final one.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



9th December 2008

well...
congratulations!
9th December 2008

Congratulations...
Congatulations... And Job Well Done! Now, When will you come explore Alaska? LOL... Thanks for lettin me tag along... Bill Anchorage, AK
9th December 2008

Nice Banana Ear Jersey
Well done ya big lug! Now stop showing off or the wheel will come off.
10th December 2008

Congrats!!!
You made it!!!!
10th December 2008

Knackered?????
Congrats David, well done! Joyce, Zoe and Anthony xxx
29th December 2008

I was fortunate enough
to be on the beach in St. Augustine on the day that David completed his trip! He introduced himself to me, told me about his trip, and I requested the honor of taking the picture of his journey's end. It was such a pleasure to meet such a charming and interesting man. Contratulations, David!!

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb