Live, Laugh, Love, Learn


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » West Palm Beach
October 24th 2013
Published: October 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Like any dream, my huge larger than life dream of traveling the world has been met with a variety of responses:

1. How can you afford that? One site I have found helpful is www.budgetyourtrip.com. This site allows you to see three different types of travelers budgets both in the currency of that country and in American dollars. I have based mine on the medium luxury which is actually more than I will actually spend in most places but it ensures I have the money. I'd also advise you to set up an account called travel and every week put a small amount in here even if it's only a dollar or two. This money wasn't saved in a week or month but it took about 10 years including me not moving to a bigger apartment so I could save to travel one day.

2. How can you travel that long? I want to go! I am making sure to leave extra days in each city so that I don't feel rushed. Obviously this won't be possible everywhere but in as many places as possible. I also think having things that remind you of home helps as well. The first thing I did when I decided to do this trip was to have as many of my friends as possible fill out a small notecard (can be found at target or any similar store). I had them include their address so I could send a postcard a lost art these days. I will not open these cards until I am away. With travel you need to be realistic there will be hard days when you are homesick. Hopefully these cards will do the trick and remind me how lucky I am.

3. But what about your job, apt, pets etc? It may take some time but there will be all of these to find again when I get back. Who knows maybe after some self reflection they will be a different job city or apartment. You don't know until you try. Material things are not as important as memories. (Big thanks to my mom for storing my clothes and things).

4. How do you know where to go and for how long? I don't. But I have looked at a map and thought of the places I have dreamed about. I have also used the amazing resource of the internet especially Lonely Planet's forum Thorn Tree www.lonelyplanet.com/thorntree. It's amazing with many different topics about each country responded to by other travelers. Some even make friends and meet up from it! I also called airtreks, www.aitreks.com. Airtreks does multi destination tickets pretty much a series of one way tickets. This differs from an around the world ticket as you do not have to fly only in one direction. Sarah the agent was very helpful and had an extensive self travel knowledge so was able to explain I could not go by train to an island or go through all of Australia in one week (I'm American our geography skills are not always he strongest). Even if you do not book through them I recommend talking to get feedback on your trip.

5. Your traveling alone for that long! Won't you get lonely? Is that safe? We're lucky to exist in a time of immense communication. 10 years ago when I studied abroad I had to wait on line at a cyber café Now we have tablets and laptops and most hostels have computers. Skype, Viber, What's App all allow instant communication for free. So maybe the question is how can I not be in touch? Also, I am picking hostels and the like so I'll meet other travels also wanting to meet people. I also went to the library and found some books such as Leave the Lipstick, Pack The Lizard (how can you not pick a book like this up?) Wanderlust and lipstick: The Essential Guide for Women Traveling, and Solo Traveler: Tales and Tips for Great Trips. I also joined an amazing facebook group: Solo Travel Society which is connected to a great blog, (http://solotravelerblog.com/). In regards to safety you need to be smart don't go out at night alone, watch your belongings, try to meet other solo travelers and join them. Stay on the beaten path, Let someone know where you are. Make copies of your documents. Dress the part etc.



Overall, I'm learning a lot and know I need to trust my heart. If you listen to other people and this applies to any journey you choose whether it be a physical, mental or emotional one you won't get anywhere. It all begins with a single step. Learn as you go. Today is dedicated to the letter L for my trips motto: Live, Love, Laugh, Learn, to my friend Teri for encouraging me to find my voice and to my family whom may not always understand me but always try to support me the best they can.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb