Travels with Snowbirds Monday January 28, 2013, Peace River Thousand Trails, Wauchula, FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Wauchula
January 28th 2013
Published: January 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The One About Spending More Money

I slept until 8:03. I remember waking up at 4 something, rolling over to relieve the pins and needles in my right arm, and didn’t wake up again until 8:03. I did stay up until midnight, so I guess that’s what is required of me to sleep past 6:00. Who cares, I’m on ‘vacation.’

Some ‘neighbors’ came over wanting a tour. I should charge admission!!! I need to make some money to defray my new expenses, need to start somewhere……laugh. It’s fun. I’m having a good time.

Kathy spent the night away on her goonie adventure. Ginnie said I could borrow her car, as long as I got her a few groceries. I told her I would be gone a few hours, never expecting a few to turn into 3. I hit up both Dollar General and Family Dollar stores, which are in the same strip mall, and exactly right next to each other. Huh? And, neither were truly Dollar stores…..I bought lots of needed items for the new RV….such as a long handled squeegee to clean the front windows, and ammonia to clean them with; dots and Frisbees so I can help Ginnie learn the dot method of parking; black pepper, tissues, etc., etc., etc. Then on to Wal-Mart for another $120 of much needed groceries, and RV equipment including a trash can, bottled water (so I don’t have to boil….at $.68/gallon I can afford to buy) a cover for my range to increase my counter space, a paper towel holder, 3M plastic hanger thingys to hang my shower squeegee and dustpan, plastic bins to store spices in, on and on and on. And, Ginnie’s groceries, laugh. Lunch was at Sonic. Yummy.

I putzed the rest of the afternoon, hanging up stuff, reorganizing closets and cabinets, and generally lounging. Kathy went for a walk with her camera in search of the sun bathing alligator, and got some pictures. Both girls were grinning like Cheshire cats. I knew tonight was a congratulations steak dinner celebrating my new RV, but my girlies outdid themselves. We enjoyed grilled steaks, salad, baked potatoes, and mushrooms. The girls gave me a beautiful sentimental card and map of the states which I can stick on the door of my RV to show where I have traveled; every good RVer needs one. The question is, do you put all the states you have RVd in, or do you just apply the states you have RVd in the current RV??? My friends attach every state they have RVd in.

But, as good as the dinner was, the grand finale was the desert. A cheesecake tart concoction covered with fruit, mostly strawberries, and that amazing sweet glaze ((PICTURE)). What an amazing dinner.

A totally awesome day……until I remembered that I left Winston’s crate in my old RV. FRAK!!!! When collapsed/closed, it fit snugly between the passenger door and the passenger seat. I never opened that door when moving gear; I never saw it; I never remembered it. Winston has been pretty amazing in the Vista and I have not needed it. He was fine for the 3 hours I was gone today, my neighbors said he barked a little when people/dogs walked by, but not too much, so losing the crate is not the absolute worst thing, but I sure would hate to lose my financial investment!! I left a voice message for salesman Joe to see if he can recover it tomorrow.

Time to watch TV and crochet, haven’t done that in a few days.

Kat Out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.2169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb