Hot Dogs, Baseball and a loving re-union


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tampa
September 7th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

June the 14, 2009 I flew with Airtran to Tampa. I reserved a super shuttle online which was 21USd before I came. It was scheduled to pick me up between 2:35- 2:50am and it was running late so it got me at 3:10 am. The guy went to the wrong address or something. I felt bad for making Jill wait outside for me whilst the guy came but she was surprisingly really friendly about it at 3:10 in the morning. In our super shuttle I met some girls from Chicago and Seattle and funnily a couple from Utrecht that I got to practice my Dutch with.

Via Atlanta I finally flew into Tampa. I had to make an announcement at Tampa to look for Alyson - though the guy on the other end couldn’t really understand what I was saying.

It was a joyous occasion meeting with young Alyson and I leaped gracefully into her arms. We couldn’t stop hugging and I gave her a big hug from King Allie also. Sigh King.

After meeting with Alyson we went to her house in Tampa. It was really cute and a full house really nicely decorated I really loved it. We had some snackage then Alyson announced we were going to a Rays baseball game. Booyakah!

We went to the Tropicana field. The game we were watching was the Tampa Bay Rays vs Washington Nationals Game and we got the cheap tight arse tickets for 13USD but no one checked so we took seats close to the pitches.

It was quite amusing the guy at the ticketing office could not at all understand what I was saying.

"What what did you say"

"How is the match going" - I said.

"What was that" he said.

"You know the score how is it, did they score did we miss anything?" I replied.

"Im sorry I cant understand you" he replied turning his head towards us to make sense of my nonsensical Australian accent.

"Dont worry about it" I replied. Alyson was laughing through this whole episode. I informed her this was the third time in the trip this had happened where people did not have a clue as to what I was saying. I didnt know the Australian accent would hinder me so much!

During the game we had some Budweiser, true blue American beer and a hot dog. The hot dog was good. It was kinda expensive though, like 7USD for each beer and 6USD for each hot dog. Alyson said this was actually normal for game prices.

The Tropicana field was indoors. It was the first indoor field Alyson had been to and at first she thought it would be weird and the atmosphere would be lost but it actually turned out to work really well in our favor particularly as it was quite hot outside and the inside of the stadium was a kept cooler.

Throughout the game we talked a whole bunch and probably didnt pay attention to the game as much as we should but to be fair we did get up and dance upon request.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



16th September 2009

when i bought tickets in toronto to fly to oz land: the travel agent told me u'll come back in 15 years and nobody will understand you ozzy accent. you r proving her statement ;^)

Tot: 0.572s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 15; qc: 81; dbt: 0.2676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb