Goodbye Friend . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tampa
May 6th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My first day on this ship, I met Brooks. He was friends with Tara, the Club O2 director I took over from who was also kind enough to just drag me around behind her while I tried to find my way around. Within my first few weeks, Brooks and I were inseparable. I didn’t have any other friends on the ship. A lot of people assumed we were dating. Random vendors in ports have called us a married couple - we told them our spouses were at home and we were having an affair. Of course, that is not what our friendship is. But he has been my best friend in this crazy world I have been living in.

Ship life takes you over somehow. You lose touch with everything that is familiar, comforting, everything that has shaped you until now. I’m not certain how I match up with everything I’ve left behind. But through all of this, I’ve strived to remain grounded in where I’ve come from. In Brooks, I found someone who connects me to my home because of our similar backgrounds and who also grounds me in this bizarre ship world.

He has given me so
Supper ClubSupper ClubSupper Club

Brian, Brooks, Me, Catherine & Marlize
much. More than I could begin to list. But most of all, with him I’ve been able to just be as I am. I’ve never feared judgement, rejection or abandonment. That has been the greatest gift anyone has given me in my time at sea.

Brooks just left. I watched the taxi drive him away to the Tampa Airport. We will see each other again. And soon. I’ll see him as soon as I see my friends and family from home whom I’ve been separated from for months now. I’m not sad that our friendship is over because it’s certainly not. But I can’t imagine this ship world without him. I can’t wrap my head around another month here filled with adventure and parties and work and drama but not having him to ground me, to comfort me, to provide me with laughter.

I am sad he is gone. I’m sitting in a Thai restaurant waiting for take-out and trying not to look like the crazy girl crying at the bar! But I’m also just so grateful to have found him at all. I’m so lucky and I know it. We have shared so much. And I know we’ll still share more yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Brooks Playing With FoodBrooks Playing With Food
Brooks Playing With Food

We're all class at supper club.
On The DeckOn The Deck
On The Deck

Marlize, Catherine, Brooks, Me & Brian


8th May 2007

:(
I miss you guys so much, I was reading your blogs and looking at all the photos and I just want to cry...
9th May 2007

So glad you have found such a good friend in Brooks. All good things must come to an end at some point. And you're right, it's not over for good. Your book is still being written. Just this chapter has come to a close, that's all. lol. Sarah and her silly analogies I know. Keep smilin' babe.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb