I've got the Travel Bug


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tallahassee
November 24th 2009
Published: November 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm stuck, I'm stuck, I'm stuck in Florida!! And I'm already trying to plan a European summer. Right now, (and my plans change all the time) I want to be in England for a majority of my summer. Spending most of my time in Reading, with visits to friends in London and Cambridge (Bedford really). But my logic is, why would I spend so much money on an international flight and not take advantage of cheap inter-European travel? I'm already looking at Ryanair and have found £2 tickets for Krakow, Oslo, and Stockholm and £30 tickets to Berlin, Grenada, Pisa, and Madrid.

My logic for having only travelled to France 3 times (rather than going to another country; Scotland and Wales don't really count) was because I know some French, at least enough to get by. But I think that if I plan far enough ahead, I could learn some basic German, Polish, Spanish, Italian, whatever! I mean Samantha Brown does it all the time right? I'm watching Anthony Bourdain do it right now!

I played staff at a local exhibition called "going global" for my job. There were tonnes of students displaying their involvement in other countries. Most of them were service projects. I envy them so badly! I think I might do an Alternative Break Corps for spring break, like a week of service work in Ecuador or Peru.. okay nevermind, just saw that I missed the deadline for that one. Maybe next year. I just gotta go! Starting next semester, I am joining Global Peace Exchange. Last summer they went to Thailand (my friend Anne amongst them). I know it's probably too late to get in on this summers trip, but once again, maybe next year. I've added an International Affairs Minor, so I probably will no longer be graduating early.

Well I'm on the subject of school, what are your thoughts? Is it better to begin graduate school right away? Or try and get a job first?

But, enough of my future plans which will probably change anyway. . . What am I up to know?

Thanks for asking.

I've been inspired to write because I saw my friend Dana the other day (flatmate in London fall) and she was jotting something down in a little notebook. She told me that she just writes or doodles when a thought strikes her. I admire that. I'm going to copy her and steal her thunder. She can't be completely mad at me though, I have cited her here.

We are all going crazy at final times at Uni. I'm actually considering (I say considering because I haven't started yet, and therefore very well might not at all) doing extra credit assignments. For my computer class we have to write a paper about something we would change about the course. I'm writing that I would have changed that I even took the course at all. I hope he appreciates my creativity.

Thanksgiving is coming up, I'm wondering halfway across the world to Tampa. I'll try and take pictures, I never take pictures.

Observation: Facebook is taunting me with all the things that they know I want, but cannot logically have. All the adds on the side are advertising baby clothes, engagement rings, even incredibly cute skeleton children labelled with "Sarah, Donate and save me!" This must be how Madonna and Brangelina got started.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb