We going to Germany, baby! #thetwinsandmandy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tallahassee
September 14th 2018
Published: September 15th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Next stop Germany - Meet the ladies

Trying to write this introductory blog has been a little challenging.

All of my two followers are probably thinking where did I pick Lori, Kim and Mandy up from. Well, actually high school.

In high school I wasn’t as exciting as I am now. I knew a lot of folks superficially but I really only had one super close friend (Karen).

I ran cross country with a wonderful group of folks, played golf with some super nice girls and attended an occasional field party but my close friendships came in college or after high school. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my high school career and enjoy all the friends I’ve made. I wouldn’t change that experience for the world.



Lori

So about five years ago I walked into my oldest sons elementary school and saw Lori Hayes, well Blume now.
Lori and I met in high school and since she is a twin and I am a twin we always knew who each other were. Twins weren’t very common when we were growing up so all the sets of twins really knew who each other were.

I think the funniest thing is a lot of people I knew from high school seemed to have babies about the same time. When I drop off at the elementary school, middle school or now high school it’s like a fun high school reunion every day of my life. Some people might not like that but I do. I think it reminds me of a simpler, happy, fun period of my life. It’s nice to have a connection with folks and it gives you a warm fuzzy that your child is gonna be ok in this little community.

Anywho, Lori and I started getting to know each other in real adult life. Lori opened her home and family to us like we had been exchanging Christmas cards since 1994. Truth be known, Lori made me feel so comfortable from the minute we reconnected. She integrated into my families life like we had known each other forever.

The cool thing about Lori is that we didn’t talk about high school but we just bonded over our children, family lives and normal life stuff. Her friendship has been amazing and open and it was so nice when she lived in town to have someone to be a sounding board. Then she up and moved to Germany!! Damn her!



Mandy

In her wake she left me with Mandy. Oh, Mandy. I have always known Mandy as Lori’s friend so when Lori came around Mandy was around for the most part. I never opened myself to Mandy because I really didn’t have to. She was Lori’s friend and I knew Mandy from high school but I didn’t have a connection so I never invested myself into a friendship.

The next thing you know Mandy and I have become very close friends. In the two or so years that Mandy and I have been hanging out I have shared more ups and downs and all arounds with her. If you told me in high school that I would be traveling overseas with Mandy I would have laughed in your face. Now it is my honor to be taking this crazy cat across the seas.

I consider myself lucky to get to know Mandy later in life. She is strong, determined and encouraging. She pushes me to do more than I think I can, encourages me through tough times and laughs with me through it all.

So, one night I told Mandy that we were going to visit Lori in Germany. She said, ‘yes’ right away but my sister Cheryl needed a little encouragement.



Cheryl

Cheryl, she’s my twin sister. If anyone has been around me for a minute then you’ve met her. She has been entertaining my crazy since we were womb mates. I’m a tiny bit more outgoing (just a tiny/lotta bit) than Cheryl but don’t count her out she’s got a little fire inside of her.

When she agreed to go to Germany I kind of high-fived myself. Hot dignity ‘ol Cheryl is gonna go overseas with me. I couldn’t be happier. I am thrilled beyond belief to share this experience with the person that knows me inside and out and everywhere in between.



Kim

Then there is Kim. Kim and Lori are also twins. See, I’m a twin so I talk about Cheryl a lot (not all bad Cheryl!) so people think of us as a package deal. Same with Kim and Lori. Lori brags on her sister so much you would think she’s with us every time we hang out. Kim, like Cheryl needed a little encouragement to go overseas but I’m sure us ‘big sisters’ are going to make sure our twins have a phenomenal time!

I can’t wait to have so much fun with ‘The Twins and Mandy’ for our week in Germany.
#thetwinsandmandy


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb