Continuing on with my vacation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Sarasota
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

The view on SiestaThe view on SiestaThe view on Siesta

Can you believe this gorgeous sunset?
OK, I had to cut things short last time, but I realized I left out my most memorable day in Sarasota, which was unfortunately the last one...for now!!

I decided to get creative and do what I like to call a beach survey. Basically, I made it my mission to go to every single beach in Sarasota. OK, my original goal was to hit every beach in Sarasota county, but I need to come back again to go to Casey Key, Nokomis Beach, Venice Beach, Casperson Beach, and Manasota Beach.

I decided to start from the top. First stop was Longboat Beach. The best word to describe this spot: serene. It was practically empty (which I couldn't understand, since it's breathtakingly beautiful), but this is a welcome sight. It was quiet, peaceful and sunny with a slight breeze. I took a long dip in the gorgeous water and laid out for so long that I almost missed my other planned stops!

I went over to Lido Beach afterwards and took a nice, long walk. Lido had a lot more people on it, but it was still very quiet and I had a lot of space to roam on my own by the water.

I headed over to Siesta Key next. I started off at Parrot Beach, a little private beach. This has got to be one of my favorite spots in Sarasota, if not my #1. Some of the most gorgeous condos and homes I have ever seen overlook this little gem of a beach. It's incredibly tiny but every inch of it is perfect. One guy had a picnic set up on the rocks and was doing some fishing. A family was swimming in the turqoise water. Further down were some sun bathers. I decided to hop in the water and walk around the rocks. Behind them, I was surprised to see a bunch of people swimming, talking, and drinking-just hanging around their boats! That right there made me wish I lived here. I envy this lifestyle!

I saved Siesta Beach-the main stretch including Crescent Beach for last. The sun was starting to set, so I grabbed some gelato and headed out for a walk. Imagine my surprise when I run into a huge and growing group of people playing drums and other instruments, dancing, playing with fire, running around, eating, drinking, singing, the works. I quickly found out that this was the well-known Siesta Key Drum Circle! It's completely free and incredibly fun. A big group of all kinds of people get together every Sunday evening on the main part of the beach to let loose, play some music, socialize, and have a great time. I could see how happy everyone looked. It's a great way to relax after a long week of work...and a great way to let your hair down before going in again the following morning. I stayed there all night long and even joined in dancing! I was afriad to butt in, but I was quickly welcomed! Everyone was so friendly and they all made me feel like I was right at home. I could get used to this.

One thing I noticed about Sarasota is that everyone is friendly. In Philadelphia, when people say hi to you when you pass them, you get suspicious. That's just how we are. If a stranger greets you or approaches you, something is up. Our first instinct is to clutch our purse and run. Sarasota is different. It's not usual for a total stranger to give you a big smile and friendly wave as they pass. The locals often recognize each other, as well-just from going to the same things or being from the same area. I can see why so many people come home to Sarasota to feel, well, at home.

I'm already planning my next trip back--for later in the summer! Stay tuned for upcoming blogs. I hope to hear from other visitors!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb