My Hometown


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Sarasota » Siesta Key
April 27th 2006
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Being as SRQ is considered the Culture Coast and having beaches with the whitest sand and sunshine nearly year-round, I decided to highlight a bit of my hometown. Getting out of the gloomy British weather and stepping into my sandals and sunglasses to Sarasota, Florida is where I was 3 weeks ago. As we all know, America does not have a long history but to tell you a bit of SRQ's background...it all started in the 1880's when Sarasota was promoted in Scotland becoming known as a "Paradise for the Pampered." The famous "icon" of Sarasota is John Ringling of the Ringling Brothers and Barnum and Bailey Circus with the extravagant mansion: Ca d' Zan (served as several film sites), rose gardens, statues and museum of art. Sarasota was a secret but is becoming more and more popular; I might add that in the peak season it is hard to find a car with a Florida license plate.

I will admit that every visit back to SRQ brings out my appreciation for the artsy, cultural coastal town. When I visited the Whitsunday Beaches in Australia, I thought to myself "Looks a bit like Siesta Key beach," without the food pavilion, masses of people and lifeguard stands. If you visit Florida, you must come to Sarasota and see the white sand of Siesta Key Beach, drive out to Longboat Key viewing aqua-marine waters and million-dollar homes, take a stroll around St. Armands circle enjoying the smells of Kilwins' homemade fudge and window shopping at some of the posh stores, walk down main street with its cute boutiques and book stores, have a glass of wine overlooking Marina Jack, dance to the live bands at the 5 O'clock club or Siesta Key Village bars, gaze at the colorful fish at Mote Marine Aquarium, camp out at Myaka Park, visit the Historic Spanish Point, watch a ballet or concert at the Van Wezel a.k.a. Purple Cow, watch Spring Training at the White Sox stadium or play golf at one of the many courses...I myself would just like to lay on the beach all day long...



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sand CastlesSand Castles
Sand Castles

An event hosted in the sand castles on Lido Beach
The Sailor Good-ByeThe Sailor Good-Bye
The Sailor Good-Bye

There are statues and artwork lining marina jack and this piece has been quite controversial


Tot: 0.416s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0957s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb