Catena and Lost Touzema Shrimp


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Riviera Beach
January 19th 2014
Published: January 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I didn’t really looked at the tide tables and I got to the bridge pretty late. Even thought the ambient temperature was cold, the water looked pretty clear and since good conditions have been rare at the bridge lately I decided to brave the cold and go for a dive. I am still in a Costasiellas mode but someone that I didn’t know with a video camera was searching the spot so I decided to go elsewhere. I immediately saw a green touzema shrimp and I market with my stick but I took my eyes off it to change the f-stop and BAM! I never found it again. That would have been the find of the day : (. Then, I ended up in the pipes area and checked out on my neon green mantis shrimp for eggs. Nothing yet. I moved on slowly to the dip, passed the dip and I only photograph an juvenile banded cleaner shrimp. Very cute. None of the photos are worth sharing because I didn’t zoom in and the antennas were covering the eyes. I moved west and I found a pretty adult Catena but very pale. Normally I see them with 2 colors in the cerata. I tried to get a good shot of it but it was moving fast curling and going away from me. The tide had turned by then and I could feel the cold current and I decided to head back east. When I got to warm water I ascended to look for known flags. I saw Deb’s south of nudiword. I thought wow. She probably found something interesting to be in that area right now. I went back down and I felt an engine very close to me and I thought impossible Im on a no motor zone. Well right after that, I saw the boat beaching right in our entry/exit point. I thought to my self: Shut I just hope it is not the sheriff. That would be very unsafe to go thru our diving area. I couldn’t concentrate thinking that there was a boat around and I poped my head to look and the boat was gone. I bet it was loaded on a trailer, but why there and not on the ramp at the other side?. I have to remember to ask Linda and Bob since they were just getting ready to leave. I found my mark for the pregnant pipefish but I didn’t really look much for it because I was too buoyant at that depth so I moved on a little bit deeper and I found an area with a whole bunch of coffee trivias. They are super beautiful but I don’t have a photo that I am real happy with. Deb was still there when I left.

Log 680 17ft 153min 72oF 14lbs ? 80 AL 5mm Bali lavacore hodie + gloves

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb