Early dive in a cold day.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Riviera Beach
January 18th 2014
Published: January 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

White spotted Long Arm OctopusWhite spotted Long Arm OctopusWhite spotted Long Arm Octopus

Notice the 2 white spots on the head. So cute!!
Since the viz was so good the day before I encouraged Steve to dive on a cold day. We prepared the jugs of hot water and off we went. Our plan was to look for Costasiellas but they are in a pretty busy area where the sand gets stired out a lot. I saw Deb’s flag as I was getting in and as she saw me she jumped out of the water super exited. She showed me a very pregnant pipefish. The eggs are inside a pouch on the belly and far from the face and very difficult to make it look artistic so I just snaped a proof of life shot. We saw it starting contractions and curling and twisting to the side. I don’t know why but I didn’t think about filming it. I called Diane (the video girl in our group) as soon as I got out of the water so she can give it a try tomorrow if it is still there. I moved to the pipessss area and searched for critters for a while and didn’t fine any thing interesting except for a neon green mantis shrimp inside a pretty solid hole. I have seen him there a few times and it’s only a matter of time to find him with eggs. I was checking the caleurpa and the grass from nudis but I saw none. Then I moved to the log area and I saw a long arm octo. I love the way the change color when they move. As I was protographing it, It went inside a hole and I rotated around him until I saw very distinct white spots on his head. I don’t think I have seen a white spotted octo before. I also saw a whiteish dragonnette, which means that they are around. I saw different size pipes, more green mantis, one dusky no eggs, a real weird star but nothing really exiting. I rode the outbound current towards the beach and exited without looking for costasiellas because I was cold. Brrrr 72 degrees and my hands were numb.



Log 679 14ft 129min 75oF 14lbs (Maybe 16 I have to check because I still get buoyant by the end of the dive, so I need to figure out to put weight on my tank since I can't get any more inside my pockets) 80 AL 5mm Bali lavacore
Pregnant PipehorsePregnant PipehorsePregnant Pipehorse

Not a great photo just for the log.
hodie + gloves


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

DragonetDragonet
Dragonet

A little whiter than the ones I have seen before.
White spotted Long Arm OctopusWhite spotted Long Arm Octopus
White spotted Long Arm Octopus

I love playing with Shallow DOF


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb