Diving on a cold day? Dive or not to dive? What a dilema...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Riviera Beach
January 7th 2014
Published: January 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Last night had been announced to be the coldest night of the year: 50 degrees. Maximum temperature during the day: 62 degrees. How cold could the water be? I went outside and it was not windy. I set up my camera but I had some trouble with the primary strobe. It would fire but the image would come out dark even opening the aperture. I changed cords, 3 batteries and the strobe. Finally I noticed that it was position between full and ttl. Changed it and bam it worked. I looked at the watch and I could still be on time. I loaded my truck up and decided to go and get a feel for it and decide to dive or not at the location. I figure I wont do a long dive just like an hour or so and play around. I got there and the parking lot was empty. How is that for a dream come true: Have the entire bridge to myself. I touched the water and it was warm and it looked clear at the beach. I decided to go in but I had forgotten my BC and regulator. Drove to the dive shop, borrowed a set and came back just on time to get in. I wanted to find the gold pipefish I saw briefly the day before and play with depth of field. When I started my descent I couldn’t even see the surface or the bottom until I touched it. But I was already salty so I decided to make an effort and stay at least for an hour. I saw a very cute frilly but the water was also particulate. Then I saw my pipefish. Perfect. It had awesome blue dots. I couldn’t take the shot I planned because of the conditions but it was fun to try to guess where I was in low visibility. I felt like thrown back in my firefighting training. The wind had picked up when I got out and that was torture. Luckly I remembered to bring a 5-gallon bottle of hot water to poor over myself. Should I dive tomorrow or not? …Right now I am leaning towards not.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb