Blue Ring Octo in Florida


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Riviera Beach
January 9th 2014
Published: January 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I had to go get the material to start my Divemaster training and I decided to get all my gear ready and check out the conditions at the bridge. If it was fine I was going in. I run into Sandra when I got there and we walked over the bridge to look at the water from there. It actually looked ok. We decided to join forces and go in together to look for the pipe horses since they are actually really hard to find. I swam on the surface to the spot and dropped from there. Sandra followed. I landed right on the spot next to the male pipehorse. I was so exited. I signaled Sandra to shoot it while I look for the female so each of us could have one. Instead I found a yellow sponge bob with blue spots in its body. Not so good but it was bright yellow and I don’t remember ever seeing a blue spotted one. It was moving constantly and I needed more time with it but Sandra signaled me that she was done with the male pipehorse so I moved on to it and dedicated to try to get a detailed portrait. By the end of the dive I saw a small octo that was going somewhere but apparently I was on its way. I backed off to let him go and it started going up on the water column with tentacles all curled up. It would have been an awesome shot but unfortunately my strobes were out of power. I only got a couple of id shots and then I headed out. When I got home and reviewed my shots I discovered I had run into a blue ring octo!!!!! Omg. Got to find him again!. That is my new mission. : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb