Huge squid sleeping.


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Squid: Star of the dive!Squid: Star of the dive!Squid: Star of the dive!

I loved watching this guy. It let me get pretty close with out getting spooked.
I dove solo but Linda, Rob and Patrice were in the water. The fist part of the dive I help Linda and Rob to look for the long nose batfish but none of us could find it. We hope it is still around so they can document it. I photographed a blenny on a bottle. I would love to get back to it and snoot it. I spend a lot of time whatching a squid sleep. It was pretty big almost a ft in length. I have never seen one that big. Its mouth cought my attention and I tried to capture the way it was blowing air out of it. The squid would fall down in the water column and go back up flapping its wings. So beautifuI. Up and down. And blow air continiously. I have a couple of clips of it. I hope they are decent to share.

I also saw four different species of octos. Mostly small and sleeping out in the open because their homes get removed in the beach cleanups. I miss the time when there were lots of bottles and we used to find an octo in every one of them.

I
Octo.Octo.Octo.

One of the four species I saw that day. I also saw a mimic on the beach, a florida octo and the one with the brown ring around its eyes. I wanna be in an Octopus Garden...
kept having trouble with my 161 strobe: It fires but the light is not strong enough and I get really ugly shadows. Time to replace it. Other than Ariane and Peter there was no one else in the water when I got out. Linda, Rob and Patrice were waiting for me to check that I was safe. Thanx guys so much for waiting. The bridge can get a bit spooky when it starts getting dark and I was shaking cold from a long dive.

Log 530. No computer


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Seaweed BlennySeaweed Blenny
Seaweed Blenny

Snoot candidate


13th March 2013

Awesome squid photo!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb