First dive at BHB after a few weeks.


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

There have been a couple of weeks since I arrived from Hi and I was dealing with our photo exhibit at The Blue Wild Expo. I was definitely looking forward to get wet. I emailed Linda and Judy to find out viz latest report and late findings. Linda was looking to photograph the Costasiellas and the long horn batfish. Judy and I were in a “whatever” mode. Deb reported 9 Black American seahares the week before and we saw a couple by the swimming area...we still don’t know what is causing so many do die. Linda was lucky to spend 45 minutes with a baby manatee. What a wonderful encounter!!

I photographed an orange skeleton, there were a few duskys with eggs and I shot one with orange eggs. I saw a hermit crab trying to steal a someone else’s shell. I snapped a quick photo (I forgot I can do video) and went to check out a striated froggie. It was in a bad position so I moved on. The highlight of my dive was 3 flounders mating. 2 of them mated first and then a third one joined the couple the second time they mated. What a wonderful
Dusky jawfish with eggsDusky jawfish with eggsDusky jawfish with eggs

I like the orange eggs very much! They are a few around waiting to hatch...
behavior to witness. Judy pointed out a supercolorful wrasse that I haven’t seen before. We think it was spawining and shooting up to the surface and maybe we didn’t recognize it because it was wearing mating colors very pretty. I also witnessed a lizardfish manching on something. It was hunting and it ate something before I got there. You can almost see antennas coming out of the mounth. It was ready for another strike when a couple of photographer came 5 ft to close to me and scared the lizardfish away, ruining my chance…It was a “Kovacs” kind of dive: behavior kind of shots. One of my strobes was firing every other shot and must of my images have ugly shadows in the right side so I had to trash them all. I got out a half hour after Judy got out.

Log 529. No computer. 80 AL 12 lbs and ankle weights.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Hermit crab Hermit crab
Hermit crab

trying to steal someone else's home. it was pretty wild I wish I had remember I can use the video mode. Dah
Lizard fish Lizard fish
Lizard fish

..with something hanging of the mouth
striated frog fishstriated frog fish
striated frog fish

…pretty common sighting this time of the year


13th March 2013

What a sharp photo of the skeleton shrimp! Beautiful, as always. Very jealous about the baby manatee -- have yet to see one of those -- and a baby at that!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb