Manatee Springs to Panama City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Panama City
February 3rd 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Manatee Springs to Panama City


2/3/07

The next morning I decided to work my way into the Florida Pan Handle. Wasn’t sure where I would go. As I stopped at a gas station just north of Chiefland their was a truck that had a sticker on it’s windshield that said “REDNECKTIFIED” with the rebel flag on each side of it. This amused me and I wanted to take a picture, but was concerned the owner might think I was making fun of him. Stan, our manatee tour guide said this area of the country is the last of the wild frontier and the locals I met around town seemed to verify that thought. I looked in the store and it appeared to me the owner of the truck could have been any of the 5 men in that store. As a result I started my truck and took a picture as I was driving from the gas station.

I ended up making it all the way to Panama City that night and spent the night in a Wal-Mart Parking lot. I had went to a campground earlier, but the cost was in the mid twenties and decided not to pay that much. I went
Worth Traveling 100 miles?Worth Traveling 100 miles?Worth Traveling 100 miles?

I looked down on my odometer and it said 5,500 miles. Wonder if it was worth traveling that far. It was very good. The pork was extremely fresh. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal but not sure I would travel 5,500 miles for.
to a bar called Coyote Ugly Saloon, which was right by the Wal-Mart I was staying at for a few drinks before hitting the hay. Most of the Wal-Marts have 24 hour security so that makes me feel safe. I lock the camper shell from the inside with a ratching strap for added security. For somebody to get in, they will have to bust glass.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

LighthouseLighthouse
Lighthouse

This lighthouse was needing some work. But photo worthy nonetheless.
Bible Belt?Bible Belt?
Bible Belt?

Not sure if the town of Apalachicola is in the bible belt? I guess they are marketing to a certain crowd? Those that get church bulletins.
Signs across AmericaSigns across America
Signs across America

On Tyndall AFB I saw these signs.
Need PaperNeed Paper
Need Paper

This is a huge paper processing plant.


15th March 2007

happy b'day Sunday 3-18
Frontier has disconnected our internet supplier's 800 number (eliminating their competition) so i am at Uncle Bernies getting caught up. I may have to cave and go to them-even though I don't like the way they can take someones business from them with no reason.

Tot: 0.44s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 106; dbt: 0.147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb