Be Careful What You Wish For


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Ormond Beach
March 6th 2015
Published: March 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Be Careful What You Wish For



Yesterday and today were so hot I couldn't even get in and out of my clothes I was so sweaty. Yes, you don't want to hear it. I just thought how nice it would be if it was just a little cooler especially at night. Well, I got my wish. As I headed north today the bank of clouds got closer and closer til I was in them and it started raining. Not a downpour, but enough to be careful of slippery roads. The temp at 5:30 pm was 54 and I had to get my sweat shirt to be comfortable. Poor baby!



I had a wonderful uneventful departure from the campground at Jonathan Dickenson state park near Jupiter. All kinds of things can go wrong but everything went well and I was off to Ormond Beach at noon. In about 15 min. I was on I 95 heading north listening to tunes. The vegetation changed from slash pines and palmetto to deciduous trees more open fields for cattle.



I arrived in Ormond Beach and shortly made it to Tomoka State Park. It is in a huge, dense hammock, basically woods, filled with Southern Oak dripping with spanish moss mixed with palm trees, palmetto and other low brush. It is very dense and dark and a little depressing in the rain. SO glad I'm not camping in a tent.



My campsite was a challenge. It sloped downhill from the road and was very shallow, maybe 25 ft., my camper is 19ft. but the car has to fit on the site too. I ended up putting the camper catty-corner, helped to level the site a LITTLE and putting 4 blocks under the right rear wheel and 3 under the left rear wheel. The front was fine and I ended up perfectly level. If this was my first campsite, I probably would have just cried.



Just a note for those who don't use a camper. It is necessary to level the camper so the refrigerator works properly. If you are really off level it can actually kill the refrig, and that's an expensive fix. It's also pretty uncomfortable to sleep too, you're always lopsided.



The rain stopped just before I got to the park and held off til I got set up and walked Oscar. Then it just drizzled. I did put the outside rug down because there is just sand at the site and it would all be inside, what a mess. I didn't want to put it down until the awning was up but it's windy tonight and not a good time for an awning, they tend to fly away.



So Oscar and I are all settled in our camper listening to the sound of motorcycles purr throughout the campground. It is bike week in Daytona and most of the campers here have bikes. Hope the weather improves for them.



The campground has a circular road, one way, that is very narrow and sandy. It winds through the hammock with the campsites on either side, staggered so it adds to the privacy of each site. I sure wouldn't want to drive a big rig through these roads. Hope to get pictures tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 100; dbt: 0.2254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb