Kid Simple and the Virgin


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Friday: Today I drove up to Orlando where I arrived in record time and promptly got lost on the way to Ryan's house. Only after I passed the gleaming buildings of downtown Orlando and waded through and hour of traffic did I think of phoning my native Orlandan friend. Then he proceeded to tell me that I'd wasted an hour of my time and had to turn around. To make a long story short, I finally found his home, was warmly reuinited with the bestest Ryan Caparella EVER and promptly began having fun.

We attended a beautiful Italian restaurant and had Italian cuisine to die for (and I almost did by cheese inhalation...just kidding) and were served by what we believed to be a real Italian *gasp*. Afterwards we headed downtown, the place with which I'd become highly familiar, to see a play called 'Kid Simple'. But we were early due to our good training as musicians. Both Ryan and I come from good musical stock of the classical variety where on time is late and early is on time. He showed me around downtown Orlando which is much cleaner than Miami. But then most cities are...by default. Oh Miami, I love you anyway! We passed the lovely library and peeked into the history museum where an old man showered us with stories from the 'good old days'. Then we parted and went to see "Kid Simple". Let me tell you something about this playing. HYSTERICAL. It's a radio show in the flesh. The man who played 'Garth' was utterly fantastic and both Ryan and I found 'the Virgin Ollie' completely yummy and worth paying an extra $20 dollars to view again. After the show we stayed after to speak with Ryan's old friend Kira who was very interesting and nice.

And next. Gelatto. There are only good things to say about gelatto. We got some and walked around the park and sat on a bench talking. I love me some Ryan man. Then we went back to his house where I stole his bed and he lay on the floor and we continued to talk until we slept. Apparently I still talk in my sleep in Orlando too. It's not unique to Miami. Fancy that.

Saturday: Ryan and I ate breakfast together and hung out a bit before he went to work and I drove to Merritt Island, got thoroughly lost and still made it by 2 o'clock! Now, no one told me that friends couldn't visit on Saturday and I got turned away. Poor Tianna thought I'd ditched her! No babe! I LOVE YOU! I just wasn't allowed. They didn't give her my note until the next day! 😞 Isn't that sad? Well, I was fuming for a bit but then I figured, hey, they're just doing their job so I drove back to Orlando, poked around downtown where everything was closed and I was doused by rain. But its okay, I love rain. I found the library and read part of 'Le Petit Prince' (The Little Prince) in French and it was fantastic. So much easier to get the point in its original language. I was laughing in the library. Not the smartest thing to do. Anyway, I left a bit before closing and was heading back to Ryan's casa pondering over what I'd do. He didn't have a cell and I didn't know if anyone was home. but on the way I saw the Mall at Millenia. It is the most fantastic mall. I explored and had some food and just enjoyed sight-seeing. Then I went back to Ryan's and his parents were home so I lay on Ryan's bed reading until he came home. I was supposed to study, but I didn't. Melissa Banks is much more entertaining than the GRE review! When Ryan got home after a tough day at work we had nutella and icecream and watched a movie. This movie, oh man, why must everything be happy happy happy. The man deserved to end up MISERABLE AND ALONE!!! But I'm not bitter or cynical at all. Oh no. Anyway, we stayed up a bit talking after that and then, off to bed again!

I shall publish another entry for Merritt Island since its a different place on the map!

Advertisement



29th June 2006

I don't know a punishment suitable enough for how you misspelled gelato, my dear.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb