Arr. at WDW; busy F&W festival at Epcot


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, November 7, 2009 -- Cool pool; another move; crowded Epcot

Started my Disney visit with a cool dip in the cool pool at Coronado Springs Resort. The water wasn’t too cold to get used to it fairly easily. I took a lot of photos of it before they turned on the water features. They gather all the kids to the bottom of the Mayan style pyramid and sit them on the bottom stairs then go through several steps of getting ready to turn on the water slide. So it’s surprise to the ones who don’t know that water also comes down the pyramid stairs and gets them wet (or wetter, since most were already in the pool). The water doesn’t have much force, and it’s a kind of cute little ceremony. I watched from out in the pool and tried to take a little movie of it -- of course I forgot about the problem that movies come out sideways when you hold the camera vertically! I had gotten plenty used to the water to be able to go down the water slide -- it’s a fun, long one, not too steep. It doesn’t go on until 10 a.m., tho, and I had to check out by 11, so I only went down once. CSR is definitely a nice resort.

My plan had been to go to the Morse Museum to see the Tiffany works they have, but put that off for another day -- it’s close to an hour drive north, so will try to go later in the week, or on my way home. Went to Wal-mart with a short shopping list (water, beer, nail clippers -- something else I can’t believe I forgot, etc.), and gas. Was able to get checked into the Marriott Cypress Harbor a little after 1 p.m. My unit is in the last building, kind of out in the “boonies” (not near any of the resort facilities), but really lovely. It’s a large two-bedroom (got it on an II “getaway”), could sleep 8 using the sofa beds. The king bed in the master is wonderful -- I want to take it home. There’s a two-person large round Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. The unit’s kind of got a nautical decorating scheme, blues and yellows, an overstuffed chair, and a large sectional in the living room. Another overstuffed chair and ottoman in the bedroom. Dining table, computer desk, large kitchen, screened in patio with table and four chairs. And complimentary Internet! There are lots of resort activities, a very extensive activities/sports center, paddle boats, 3 swimming pools, etc. It’s an excellent resort. Only thing(s) it seems to be missing are a water slide and/or lazy river and hammocks. I’d say it’s definitely one of the nicest places we’ve stayed in since embarking on the timeshare way to vacation -- well it doesn’t have the Caribbean ocean, but, hey, it’s wonderful for landlocked State-side).

It was hard to leave the resort, but in the evening I drove to Epcot, down I-drive and past the Marriott we stayed at in June -- don’t have to get on the freeway, which I like. It was really crowded at Epcot. It was the last Saturday night of the Food and Wine festival, so in places, it was almost elbow-to-elbow in the World Showcase. I walked all the way around, but wasn’t tempted by all the extra food and drink exhibits, mostly because of the long lines. The small food offerings ran $3.50 to 4.25 each or so, wine from $2.50 to 4.50 or so for a smallish-looking plastic glass, but it may have been 3 or 4 ounces; beer from $5.00 -8.00 for 10-12 ounces. Lots of folks were rather tipsy and glassy-eyed, some noisy, but not really much obnoxiousness. I got a little quesadilla and a dos equis at the Mexico pavilion ($8.25 for both). I found a bench by the quiet Odyssey building and ate my snack -- and gave directions to people who asked for the smoking area (I had my map out). I went on Test Track from the singles line -- made it a walk-on. It was a little worse than I remembered -- more to it, but also seemed more fun than I remembered it being (I just need to remember to hang on for the first braking test).

Went back down by the showcase lagoon to watch Illuminations, found a railing to sit on behind a bottle/can trash can -- pretty good spot actually. I could even see the globe, which I don’t usually worry about seeing -- not my favorite part of it. Then I had the long, slow trudge and drive out of the park -- wasn’t too bad; I got back to the resort just a little after 10. Since I came in about 6:30 p.m., I was able to park close to the front, in the first row just after handicapped parking, near the center -- that makes for a longer drive getting back out, but at least it’s sitting down in the car! It always surprises me to see people leaving just before the Illuminations show starts -- I think it’s still my favorite Epcot attraction (later on, there was a night when I found myself leaving before Illuminations!)..



Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb