A culturally fab day at Epcot, even if we were only in America!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
April 1st 2009
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The magical Epcot BallThe magical Epcot BallThe magical Epcot Ball

This golf ball really looked amazing at night
We did the usual morning breakfast thing by waking up in time, having our fatty breakfast and then catching the service to our rides! Today was going to be a fun day because I was heading to Epcot with my brother!

Epcot has a wide variety of rides that look cool such as mission space, Test track which I had heard some great things about, spaceship Earth, gardens of the world, Seqway demo need I say more? I was particularly interested in Mission space and Test track as these are the types of action packed rides that I enjoy!!

Once at Epcot we decided to have a go at the Segway first, the was a greatly enjoyable experience even if we had to sign up hours in advance to have a go. It was worth the wait! Where else are u going to be able to have a go on a $5000 Segway? I found the segway intuitive and easy to use, it almost sold it to me!! If only the damn things could go a little faster. Currently they go up to a fast walking pace but for me thats rubbish!! If was to pay around £3000 for
DesaniDesaniDesani

Hahaha Only in America would they be able to still sell Desani. For people who dont know they found out that its tap water branded as Coca Cola!! A scam basically
a motorised vehicle I would at least expect it to go up to 30 milles per hour!!

We then decided to try Mission: Space as there was a lot of hype going around about this ride! I mean people have been known to die after going on this ride as seen here.
It was merely a simulation game which shook you around a while and made u feel slightly sick!
For this reason we were glad we went on it before lunch! The ride really captured our imagination by putting us into teams and assigning everyone a role on the mission.
Although this ride was well thought out it was just a simulation so I wasn't that impressed.

Next on our list was test track. This ride put people in the position of dummies in a test car!! Another fantastic idea I must admit! Being strapped in a car and driven at high speeds going through different temperature changes from extreme cold to boiling hot!! I loved this ride, especially where you drive up to 70mph and it seems like your heading for a wall until a last second turn! So from me a 10/10 for test track
Epcot ball during the dayEpcot ball during the dayEpcot ball during the day

Not as good as it was in the evening
I couldnt really fault the ride at all.

The test track was located right next to the world displays where there a fabulous opportunity to get some well deserved food. Even though we had sandwiches that we had made earlier, it was too tempting to get icecream from the various sweet stands around!

We gradually entered each of the pavillions that were dedicated to each country. The first one we came across was Mexico and as u can see from the pictures we tried on as many sombrero's as possible!! When we arrived in Germany I decided that it would be wrong if I didn't try a German beer. After all that's what they do best this and their sausages!
The beer was indeed very good which opened my taste buds to German beers which I will look out for in the future?

If there are any Germans out there, which beers would u recommend in particular? I was told to try a weissbier as these are slightly lighter and according to my taste buds. Anyone with recommendations?


From here we skipped a few until we got to Japan where we bought some icecream which
My brother and his racing gameMy brother and his racing gameMy brother and his racing game

One of the many fun things to do in Innovention central
was like an American "Snowcone" I guess like a thick slush puppy! As expected it tasted just like a slush puppy so i felt slightly ripped off!

For the rest of the day we enjoyed the sunshine until the evening where the huge ball of Epcot lit up into a fabulous mystical sphere. There were various lights that stunned our eyes as well as the fireworks. The fireworks went on for about half an hour every night from 7pm onwards. There was always a vast array of fireworks on show that would be worth the extra wait in the evenings. Once back on International drive we would always be too tired to do anything energetic, ordering in Pizza and chilling out in front of the TV to finish off the day in style.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

FiretruckFiretruck
Firetruck

We thought it looked cool, whilst waiting for our segway turn
My brother on the segwayMy brother on the segway
My brother on the segway

He was also a natural using the machine. Nothing to do with the well designed segway :P
My natural skills on the segwayMy natural skills on the segway
My natural skills on the segway

Ignore the woman she wasnt required to be there!
Mission space magicMission space magic
Mission space magic

A picture just outside mission space
I thought a second picture was required!I thought a second picture was required!
I thought a second picture was required!

It does look good though doesnt it?
The world showcase lagoonThe world showcase lagoon
The world showcase lagoon

A shot of the lake sepating all the world stands
And to finish...And to finish...
And to finish...

The magical epcot ball once again in all its glory


Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb