4 weeks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
November 29th 2004
Published: November 29th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Some of Our TravelersSome of Our TravelersSome of Our Travelers

A picture of some of the people going (plus friends) at a Coffee House fundraiser we did in Oct.
1 month left until we leave for Romania. Anticipation seems to be mounting. I think that I am more nervous than anything. Just how cold will it be? Will I be able to learn enough Romanian to communicate? Will the people be receptive to us? I have about a million questions racing through my mind. Not to mention all of the things that I still need to take care of before I leave. Christmas shopping, my birthday party, the Christmas party, paying my bills while I am gone, registering for school. It's enough to keep anyone crazy busy. With all that is going on, I'm sure the next 4 weeks will fly by!

A little more about our trip. We are a group of 20-somethings from a local Orlando church that will be spending 12 days in Romania. This is not a mere holiday trip. We are in the process of raising $10,000 to purchase food, clothing, boots, coats and other necessities to give to the members of Gypsy churches that have been started in Romania. We will also be visiting an orphanage and doing some work in the area. Everyone thinks we are crazy . . . a group of kids from Florida spending 12 days in Romania . . . in the dead of winter. Most of us don't even own a winter coat, not to mention any closed-toed shoes!!

I don't fancy myself a writer, so at times these journal entries may be mundane and boring. I promise to try to update as opportunity permits and relay our experiences as truly as possible.

Thanks for reading!

Amy Joy 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb