A first class welcome home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

You know, I love Florida. Orlando, especially. Everytime I fly in, I feel like I'm going home. I look out the window of the plane and see the stiff grass and palm trees, and it's always comforting. I know that a few carefree days of shopping and comfort food are right ahead. And I was right. Once again, another beautiful visit. I spent a small fortune on clothes and a new Coach purse and scarf. I got to eat chicken and dumplings and shrimp bisque. I'm happy. I'd say I'm fat and happy, but I can't. I bought 5 sundresses, all two sizes smaller than I was. I haven't lost an ounce, but I can see muscle tone returning to my legs and abs. Working out really works! What a concept!

It was also nice to be away from the internet for a few days. Myspace is quite often a source of stress for me, and I needed some time off. I spent my time playing the Sims, shopping, texting Rachel and Jerry, and getting up early, of all things. I went to a very lovely funeral (not that funerals are happy and lovely, but as far as funerals go, it was beautiful and personal) while I was there.

I got to the airport this morning to come home, and checked in, only to have the little kiosk ask if I wanted to upgrade to first class. I said no and went on my way. After waiting in the insane security line and getting to my gate, I had changed my mind. I upgraded. You know why? Because I could. So I got a window seat, drank vodka and Diet Coke, and was thoroughly sloshed by the time I got off the plane. You try going through baggage claim and riding the metro when the world is spinning! It was worth every penny to upgrade, I tell ya. I spent a good amount of my drunken time sticking post its in my Savannah travel guide and reading a Marian Keyes novel. I love her.

My semi-inebriated butt is going to cuddle the cat and finish dinner now. Tomorrow I settle back into my normal routine. Jerry should be home soon, I can't wait to see him! It's amazing how much you miss someone after five days. LOL!

Today's lesson: First class is not only about privileged people drinking for free. It's also about the flight attendant noticing the ice in your glass has melted, promptly showing up with a new glass of ice, and placing each piece in your liquor soaked cup with those fancy little ice tongs so your vodka and Coke is never less than perfectly chilled.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb