First blog for 2007


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
January 18th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

27 on the 27th...err 28th 27 on the 27th...err 28th 27 on the 27th...err 28th

Russ celebrating his 27th birthday at 3.30am the following day.
Happy New Year Everyone!!! Hope your New Year was more eventful then ours which consisted of us working until 2.45am New Years Day. Yes you read right, Russ and I were both working at the strike of midnight which was so not what we had planned but you get that sometimes in life.

I’ve been saying this a lot lately but we haven’t been up to much since our last entry. I was sick for about a week or so over Christmas and I lost my voice which is not ideal when having to make calls home on Christmas Day. Jo actually thought I was one of Pat’s relatives calling and in turn was less then enthusiastic when I wished her a Merry Christmas 😊 Ahh, I was feeling the love.

Russ worked 60+ hours the week of Christmas as it was crazy. Christmas and Disney are two words that don't belong together. Hot, too many people, huge queues, not enough staff...you get the drift. Things have calmed down now though which makes for a better work environment.

On the home front, we have moved parks yet again. The site we were at for the last month had
Animal KingdomAnimal KingdomAnimal Kingdom

Russ at the entrance
another booking so we had to vacate our lot. We have found a place for a week that can accommodate us as everywhere in the Orlando is booked or has restrictions such as must be over 55 or RV can't be older the 10 years. I feel like opening my own park and saying, Only under 55's please, no old people allowed to reside here. Not that I'm saying 55 is old, but I feel like we are being discriminated against because we are young.

The move into the park wasn't smooth unfortunately. We arrived at the park at 11:30pm and the roads are very narrow with the only spot available being near impossible to reverse a 27ft RV into in the day let alone at that hour of the night. The car that was parked on the footpath beside ours had it's arse hanging onto the road and Russ has scraped it making the most hideous noise I've ever heard. I was following in the car behind and by the time I had come around the corner it was already in progress unfortunately. Now, this is an older car and I get the impression that this is always
EverestEverestEverest

Pretty cool ride.
happening to it. She already had a big dent on the panel that Russ scraped and the boot is pushed in as well. Last night she didn't seem to care about it but we get home today and there is a note on our door with her insurance details. Someone has obviously been talking to her and I'll be damned if she thinks she's going to get her car repaired at our expense. I didn't work as a Motor Vehicle Claims Officer and put up with people's crap for 2 years for nothing. Stay tuned for the outcome, though I can see what our work bonus is going to be spent on 😞

Work wise we are not too sure on what is happening. If we can't find somewhere to stay in Orlando then we will be moving on unfortunately. Parks are full to the brim and we don't know if we want to sign a lease for an apartment and I'm not that keen on sharing with housemates. Been there, bought the t-shirt. We've got a few ideas that some of you are aware of and I will be updating everyone else once we know ourselves what is
Myself and the Tree of LifeMyself and the Tree of LifeMyself and the Tree of Life

This tree actually has animals 'carved' into the trunk and makes for a great centrepiece to the park - Animal Kingdom
happening. Sorry for being so vague but that is the story of our life at the moment.

That is all for now, how sad, I've managed to bring you up to date by writing a few short paragraphs. Things may get more exciting in the coming weeks which will equal more exciting blogs so don't stop reading just yet.




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Kali River RapidsKali River Rapids
Kali River Rapids

Russ and I wet after the ride. We are just lucky that we didn't sit in the seats opposite us as we would have got soaked. You can purchase Mickey Mouse ponchos for $7 but it kind of defeats the purpose of the ride now doesn't it?
Lotsa waterLotsa water
Lotsa water

You wouldn't believe that a theme park was surrounding this lake would you?
Look, a baby ElephantLook, a baby Elephant
Look, a baby Elephant

Awww, how cute.
Snow WhiteSnow White
Snow White

Just for Em & Jas. Back at the Magic Kingdom. I'm yet to meet Ariel sorry Jassy, but Russ believes that she waves and smiles to him everyday as she goes by in her bikini top in the parades, you can't wipe the smile off his face.
Chip & DaleChip & Dale
Chip & Dale

I love Chip 'n' Dale Rescue Rangers so was pretty excited that they were appearing with Donald Duck.
Us & The DuckUs & The Duck
Us & The Duck

We both are Donald Duck fans and were stoked after meeting him.
Minnie MouseMinnie Mouse
Minnie Mouse

This attraction was swarming with kids. Unless my own kids beg me to take them in I will never step a foot inside the pink door ever again :)
Mickey Mouse's HouseMickey Mouse's House
Mickey Mouse's House

Minnie's is so much prettier being pink and all. Don't you agree Jas and Em?
Sleepy HollowSleepy Hollow
Sleepy Hollow

Home of the famous Funnel Cakes. The exterior of one of the places we work at. The parades, 'Disney's Dreams Come True' at 3pm and the SpectroMagic at 7pm pass by here everyday. I have the music playing in my head at this very moment as it's very hard to shake.
Jungle CruiseJungle Cruise
Jungle Cruise

At Adventureland in the Magic Kingdom
"How to Become a Pirate" Tutorial"How to Become a Pirate" Tutorial
"How to Become a Pirate" Tutorial

Pirates of the Caribbean - It's amazing how much the guy on the left looks like Johnny Depp's character, Captain Jack Sparrow.
The castle at nightThe castle at night
The castle at night

I know I posted this before but I was leaning on something this time so it was steady and it looks so pretty.


19th January 2007

From Kel
Hey you 2. Sorry for your little mishap, but least it makes good reading! Hope it all works out ok. Your pics are great as usual. I love the little elephants. Points to the Americans for getting the environment right with that native African Baobab tree behind them :) Love Kel
21st January 2007

To Deb and Russ
Debs - you know that Mom means Carol and Visa-versa - seems pointless putting both all the time. If I put Mom - still means to both of you. Enjoyed the blog and pics. Russ, I'm surprised you haven't hit a few more cars over the miles - must be awfully difficult manoevering a 27ft RV, expecially at night - take my hat off to you for all the times that you missed. Your job idea sounds very interesting - should be a blast - keep me updated. Love Mom

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb