Great birding day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Okeechobee
February 16th 2015
Published: February 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Most of this blog will be pictures, so be sure to scrool down to see them all.



The weather was perfect to spend the day, camera in hand, exploring the prairie. I had been told there was a water way down a dirt road where one could find allegators and all kinds of water birds. I took my folding chair so I could spend some time watching the birds and having them get used to me being there. There were ibus, white herons, great blue herons, little blue herons and snowey egrets. I had a great time capturing their images but didn't see any allegators. Later I found out that the allegators were really hard to see because they were in the grasses. So I'll have to go back tomorrow and hunt harder.



Later on a walk with Oscar I found a red shoulder hawk sitting on a post along the road just waiting for me to take a picture. The light was perfect and he sat there for 2 pictures.



Then there were 2 white ibus feeding in the shallow water along the road. One was an immature, the other had turned white but was a little scruffy looking. Fun to watch them.



Oscar had come to the end of his patience by then so we headed back to the camp. I was able to get my wash done, read some of my book, talked to other campers and just enjoyed the warmth.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb