The Treasure Coast of Florida - Travel Friends Unite!


Advertisement
Published: April 29th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Dave, Merry Jo and MeDave, Merry Jo and MeDave, Merry Jo and Me

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Dear All

Yay! This day on my Floridian travel adventures was a very special day. After having been in touch for several years, reading each others’ travel blogs, exchanging travel ideas and developing our friendship, I got to meet up with Merry Jo and Dave, finally in person. It actually felt as though we had also known each other in person for all these years, and we slipped right in to enjoying the day together past any formalities of “getting to know each other”. They picked me up at my hotel in Orlando, and we drove to the amazing Kennedy Space Centre on Florida’s east coast, spending the whole day there from its opening at 9am to nigh-on its closing at 6pm. In addition to meeting my great friends, it was also an amazing travelling day, which was very educational and inspiring in terms of what space travel can achieve and the horizons it opens.

During our time there, we did four mini space flight simulators with 4D special effects including little blasts of air and things like that. We also took part in an amazing launch simulation, which I’ve no idea how but it gave you some of
AlligatorAlligatorAlligator

Blue Cypress Conservation Area
the g-force experiences associated with take-off. We also saw numerous actual launch rockets from the past, as well as the amazing actual Atlantis space shuttle. Highlights of the day were a special tour MJ and Dave booked which went right up close to the VAB (Vehicle Assembly Building), a Crawler-Transporter used to move rockets along the Crawlerway to their launchpads, and several rocket launchpads, including the one which will be launching Artemis to the moon in 2024 (the year 2024 was a big date and year on our guide’s mind which he repeatedly referred to, for understandable reasons – 2024!). I actually got to meet a real astronaut, Jack Lousma, and asked him to sign my Lonely Planet Florida book! The man, well into his 80s, exuded some kind of regal aura about him which I couldn’t quite put my finger on, and I felt honoured to meet him and shake his hand. The photo on here looks like he’s angry at me for touching his shoulder, but in actual fact this was my response to him saying to me “I don’t want to cramp your style” just after I had a photo taken with him – my hand was
Osprey Eating FishOsprey Eating FishOsprey Eating Fish

Blue Cypress Conservation Area
saying “no, not at all, it’s a real honour to meet you sir!”

What particularly struck me about the place was the (quite justifiable) pride the Americans have in their space programmes, and the respect they have for their space heroes. There was a common narrative throughout aimed at encouraging the younger visitors to take an interest in space, presumably in recruiting budding astronauts and astro-physicists of the future. I also really loved the playing of the US national anthem when the centre opened at 9am, and all the Americans in the queue turning to their flag with their hands on their hearts – this was very patriotic and very touching.

After our visit, we headed for dinner at a wonderful little “Old Florida” restaurant right on the ocean’s edge on the east side of the Floridian peninsula, which was a world apart from the theme parks and concrete strips of my time in Orlando. I could tell my trip was entering into a new chapter, and I was excited.

Finally we headed to MJ and Dave’s “Bungalow” on the peaceful North Hutchinson Island, which was in reality a gorgeous, spacious apartment overlooking a huge swathe of the Atlantic Ocean and East Florida coastline, based on a stretch of the east coast’s sand-barrier island which pretty much runs down the Atlantic length of the peninsula. If I have half-as-decent-a-place to retire to when I reach the end of my career, then I will be a happy man. I went to bed that evening with the crashing of the waves outside, and really quite strong winds to lull me to sleep – quite a fitting end to what had been a really amazing and wonderful day.

The next morning began my first full day with Merry Jo and Dave. After a wonderful breakfast of bacon and eggs, we drove to nearby Captain Bob’s Airboat Tours in the nearby Blue Cypress Conservation Area. Since I was a child, my image of Florida had always been of these airboats, and I planned to do one if I ever visited the state. This day was thus a childhood dream come true, and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it, as I believe Merry and Dave did too. We had Captain Bob’s son-in-law, Captain John, as our guide, and he was just brilliant – he managed to tell us about the unique geography and biology of the area, while being at the same time hugely funny – I laughed at his humour several times. We saw around eight alligators which was impressive – apparently they were out in number on that day as it was windy. We also saw several osprey nests with parents and chicks, including a couple of them eating newly-caught fish on tree branches – they were particularly photogenic! We also saw several other birds. It was additionally the thrill of going fast on a Florida airboat which was just so atmospheric in the Floridian wetlands.

Afterwards we had lunch of pastrami sandwiches at a local deli called “The Twisted Pickle”, and then headed to visit the fascinating McLarty Treasure Museum on North Hutchinson Island. This place told the intriguing story of 11 Spanish vessels which sank off this coast of Florida during a great hurricane in 1715. The fleet was carrying all the treasure of the Spanish New World that the Spanish could get hold of, to fund themselves during the War of the Spanish Succession (1701 – 1715). The disaster took the lives of around 1000 poor souls, while around 1500 managed to survive, shipwrecked
National AnthemNational AnthemNational Anthem

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
in the brutal Floridian sub-tropical conditions, until rescue came. The loss of so much treasure, earning the area the nickname “Treasure Coast”, meant not only the end of the Spanish Empire in the Americas, but also apparently the beginnings of the pirating lifestyle which came to dominate the Caribbean in the 18th century, as many English men in particular left their naval posts to become pirates in search of this sunken treasure. Much of the treasure has apparently since been recovered, especially in recent years with more modern recovery techniques, but they say there may be even more of the treasure out there still waiting to be discovered! I guess this is where our images of Pirates of the Caribbean searching for sunken treasure must have come from.

The rest of the day was chill-time, including enjoying the pool at MJ and Dave’s condo, having a delicious dinner prepared by them, and watching the excellent film “Apollo 13” to complement our visit to the Kennedy Space Centre the day before. We recognised some of the places in the film from our visit, and even saw the portrayal of the astronaut I met, Jack Lousma – he is apparently the
RocketsRocketsRockets

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
man who first replied to the mission’s very famous distress call “Houston, we have a problem”. That evening was another one drifting off to sleep with the sound of the ocean.

My final dull day with Merry Jo and Dave was relaxing, and well-needed at my halfway point in this amazing Floridian adventure. After breakfast, and a morning trip to nearby Fort Pierce to buy some stamps for my postcards, we spent the afternoon on the beach and in the pool of MJ and Dave’s condo. Their apartment block has its own private walkway to the public beach straight in front, but since it is quite far from busy beach spots, particularly on South Hutchinson Island, it remains consistently quiet. It was a lovely relaxing afternoon, interspersed with dips in the sea and crashing waves, a deliciously strong (9%!) beer, and pastrami and houmous sandwich. After dinner, MJ and Dave surprised me with a wonderful evening out of live music, performed by a tribute band who played lots of great songs from the 70s and 80s, including those of Cher, Celine Dion, Billy Joel, and even Sheffield’s own Joe Cocker! It was great fun, and we all left with
RocketRocketRocket

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
beaming smiles.

Alas, the sad time had come when my time with wonderful Merry Jo and Dave came to an end. They were so warm and welcoming, and I felt I would really miss them. Still, time waits for no man, and my trip was ongoing and continuing. The next morning, they very kindly drove me to Fort Lauderdale Airport where I was to pick up a rental car for the next few days of my Floridian adventure, heading to the southern parts of the state. I was sad to say goodbye, yet excited at exploring more on this amazing American adventure.

I will write more on the next part of this trip in my next one, but for this one, I would like to end with a very heartfelt thank you to the lovely Merry Jo and Dave, who were not only wonderful people, they also made me feel so very welcome and gave me amazing adventures and experiences in this lovely part of Florida, along with their fantastic company and friendship. Friends forever!

Thanks for reading! All the best for now, until the next time.

Alex

PS And I finally got to meet
Crawler-TransporterCrawler-TransporterCrawler-Transporter

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Brutus! I learned that there was not just one of them, but two!


Additional photos below
Photos: 62, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

CrawlerwayCrawlerway
Crawlerway

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Space-X BuildingSpace-X Building
Space-X Building

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Artemis 2024 LaunchpadArtemis 2024 Launchpad
Artemis 2024 Launchpad

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Rocket LaunchpadRocket Launchpad
Rocket Launchpad

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Rocket Launchpad and Lightning RodsRocket Launchpad and Lightning Rods
Rocket Launchpad and Lightning Rods

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Rocket LaunchpadRocket Launchpad
Rocket Launchpad

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Rocket LaunchpadRocket Launchpad
Rocket Launchpad

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Liquid Oxygen StorageLiquid Oxygen Storage
Liquid Oxygen Storage

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Liquid Methane StorageLiquid Methane Storage
Liquid Methane Storage

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida
Me, Merry Jo, Dave and our GuideMe, Merry Jo, Dave and our Guide
Me, Merry Jo, Dave and our Guide

VAB, Kennedy Space Centre
Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB)Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB)
Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB)

Kennedy Space Centre, Florida


30th April 2023
Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB)

Happy!
Alex, so happy to read about your adventures and time spent with Merry Jo and Dave! While the sights and scenery in Florida are wonderful, it is warming to hear and read about how travel ultimately is also about the real connections built during our travels. You experienced all of it!
1st May 2023
Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB)

Happy!
Thank you for your lovely comment Sylvia, and I would completely agree! I felt blessed to have met with Merry Jo and Dave, and it was indeed a trip of both travels and connections. We travellers probably have more in common than we realise.
1st May 2023

The Treasure Coast
Dave here.....so glad you had a great time visiting our part of the world. We look forward to seeing you in your neck of the woods.
1st May 2023

The Treasure Coast
Thanks Dave! And thanks for reading, though I guess you pretty much knew about it all anyway!! :D Yay - look forward to seeing you over here too :)
1st May 2023

Meeting Merry Jo and Dave in person
How wonderful that you got to meet Merry Jo and Dave in person. It seems you really had a great time together, and you got to see and experience so many things. I would love to visit Kennedy Space Center one day, even more now that I read your post. And I guess you learned a lot about the past and present of this part of the US as well, including music and food. Enjoy the next part of your trip!
1st May 2023

Merry Jo and Dave
Thanks Katha. It was a real pleasure to meet with the fantastic Merry Jo and Dave! Travel Blog is such a lovely community of travellers, it was a real blessing to meet with them in person. Thank you for reading and commenting on my trip 😊
1st May 2023

Travel Unites Us
I am so glad you were able to meet Dave and Merry Jo, and had such a nice time. Travelers are a unique bunch of people, but one common thread is an adventurous spirit. Meeting with fellow travelers adds so much to a trip. I'm looking forward to your next installment on this trip.
1st May 2023

Travel Unites
I think that's very true Brendan. We travellers share a lot in common, and it's a blessing to be able to meet with such like-minded people. Thank you for reading and commenting 😊
1st May 2023

Meeting new friends
How wonderful to be able to meet in person, and spend time with Dave and Merry Jo! It sounds like you had a great few days with them, and had lots of fun exploring the area. I enjoy their blogs very much.
2nd May 2023

Meeting new friends
Thanks Lori - I had a lovely time with Merry Jo and Dave, and it was good to meet them in person! I too enjoy their blogs, and it was just so cool that two Travel Bloggers (or three!) were able to meet after meeting up on this brilliant website!
2nd May 2023
Alligator

Airboat ride
When we visted Florida we took an airboat ride in Everglades. I too enjoyed it a lot and saw plenty of animals and birds. But one of the alligators we saw looked very suspicious. I actually think it might have been fake. We saw it right at the end of the tour and it sat on a strange place and a bit obscured. We could see it but not pick out any details. The guide also spotted it a bit too quickly. It would have made sense to have a fake alligator there in case they had a tour where they failed to spot one. Then they would "be really lucky" because they got to "see" one right at the end of the tour. /Ake
3rd May 2023
Alligator

Airboat Ride
Ah, that would be a cunning plan! The airboat ride was definitely a highlight of my time in Florida - so much wildlife out there!
8th May 2023

Welcome to Florida my friend
This long awaited meeting was all we hoped it would be. A well established email friendship realized good travel partners and a cherished friendship. We squeezed all we could out of the Space Center and we are happy you got to talk with the Astronaut! We love space travel and love being near the Kennedy Center. We enjoyed your visit immensely and look forward to future visits. Brutus says hello. MJ
8th May 2023

Thank you my Friends!
Lovely words MJ - thank you, and I couldn't agree more. I loved every moment of it, and cherish the memories. Here's to our next meet up! And hi to Brutus too, both of them! 😁
17th January 2024
Me, Merry Jo, Dave and our Guide

Binkleys
So lovely to see you hanging out with the Binkleys
17th January 2024
Me, Merry Jo, Dave and our Guide

The Binkleys
Thanks Alan, it was so lovely to meet with the Binkleys! I love how Travel Blog brings like-minded people together 😊
17th January 2024
View from my room at Merry Jo and Dave's

View
I can hear those Binkleys saying "perfection" what a lovely view to live with everyday
17th January 2024
View from my room at Merry Jo and Dave's

View
Yes, I can hear them saying that too! And they're not wrong! I loved the sound of the ocean from their flat too, a very special place.
17th January 2024

Florida
So amazing that you were able to meet the Binkleys. They're such lovely people and appears they looked after you well which has really made your Florida trip rememberable. I wished I had visited the Space Centre as it looks amazing. Also really amazing that you got to see an Osprey and amazing photos of it eating a fish
17th January 2024

Florida
Thanks Alan! I really enjoyed my time in Florida, and a highlight was definitely my time with the Binkleys. The Space Centre was brilliant, I highly recommend it. We were very blessed with the wildlife sightings on that day. Thanks for reading and commenting, my Travel Blog buddy 😊

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 18; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb