Before I go to the Center of the World...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Naples
February 28th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone...well, I've now been in Naples, FL for a day or so. Admittedly, it's not as exciting as the upcoming stories and, to be honest, I have yet to actually take pictures. However, there are a few highlights and/or stories...

I actually flew into Miami since it seemed to be cheaper in the long run to "begin" and "end" a ticket to South and Central America from Miami, so there is where I flew. The upside is upon arrival it was a very nice 85F in Miami! I was all about the warmth, even if a little cloudy. There was a little bump at the airport, though, as the car rental company I was originally going to use didn't seem very inclined to pick up their phone for a shuttle bus to their location. They were a smaller company so they didn't have counter at the airport (and, thus, I could have saved some money in not having to pay airport taxes). Long story short is after several tries to get a hold of them, I cut bait and went to the National Car Rental counter. A little more expensive but at least I had a car...

So I'm now in Naples staying with my former co-worker Barbara who lives and teaches here (at least 'til summer). We have also been joined by her mom who flew in last night. Today has been sunny in Naples, but really pretty cool...only about 60F. I know, that's still warm compared to Minneapolis (and probably sunnier, though I haven't checked the weather back home) but a little hard to wear shorts and short sleeve shirt. Oh, well...it will get better in the coming days, I think.

Tonight we are all going to take a small trip down to the Bay and a place called Tin City. I think I will try bringing my camera. I can then start publishing pictures for you to see! There will also be live music tonight. That said, we will still have to try to get back home by 9PM, so I can watch "Lost". If we don't, I'll then have to suck it up and watch online tomorrow (which, of course, I'll have to get used to after this week anyway...) Tomorrow will be a busy but interesting day as we'll take an Everglades tour before seeing the Twins -hopefully- beat the Bo Sox.

All this is in a little bit of just vacation, but with a few items to prep for before leaving for Quito next Tuesday. It will all get done, however, before I start looking at these "new places to go" and start doing all my new learning about these places and what experiences they hold. One of the bigger things to plan for as part of the actual work I set before myself is to attend the CATHIE Conference. Barb (in Minneapolis) told me about this conference, of which is the Central American Tourism and Hotel Investment Exchange Conference. It will be a change in plans and, to be honest, expensive to attend with registration and another plane ticket. However, after looking at the program I really think I cannot afford NOT to go. While it appears they will push some projects being already started in various places it also looks like there will be a wealth of information regarding tourism and hotel development in Central America including things such as: what the governments are doing to promote tourism, things to consider when investing in Central America, and more...all info I think I can really use. Anyway, I'll buy the plane ticket and registration soon.

Okay...look for some hopeful pictures soon and I hope all is well back home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb