Wednesday 13th November 2013, 4th Day, Tampa to Miami Road Trip, FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
November 19th 2013
Published: November 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I got up today at 7.30 knowing I had a mammoth drive ahead of me. I had heard that it takes 5 hours to drive down to Miami so I left Aarons at 9.00am sharp. He said make sure I have a full tank because once I get past Sarasota there aren't any gas stations. I went to get some gas, the filling pump wouldn't accept my damn cards. Went in and paid before filling and bought some munchies for the drive down. I set off, GPS not giving me a finish time but a time of how long it was until the next junction..... I drove out of Tampa, through St Petersburg and onto I-75 (I think). At that point the GPS said "Take a Left in 220 Miles".... WTF... I literally set my cruise control to 75mph, crossed my legs and let the car do all the work. It was a great drive down, some amazing sights of straight bare roads, straight dead rivers and miles and miles of nothingness...

I got to Miami bang on the 5th hour, although it only felt like a 2 hour drive. As soon as I got to Miami it started to piss down with rain and it was raining for the duration of that day.

I checked into the Bikini Hostel http://bikinihostel.com/ where Nicole helped me. She was cool. I had already booked a private room which wad nice but did smell a tad bit it was bearable. I had beer and food etc from my drive down so I put that in the fridge, drove to Publix to get some more food and then chilled out for the rest of the day. I was still effected by jet lag so was in bed by 8pm. I pretty much slept all the way through the night. Woke up nice and early, it was still cloudy so I thought I would lounge around for a bit so I had some breakfast in my room and then went to reception and checked out of that room into a shared room of 8 for the next 3 nights.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb