# 9 Retiring Teacher preparing to teaching in China (Early photos of Taizhou)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
January 26th 2006
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the city of Taizhouthe city of Taizhouthe city of Taizhou

the beautiful city of Taizhou, 3 hrs. north of Shanghai, where Taizhou Normal (Teachers) College is located
With the arrival of the Chinese Lunar New Year this Sunday, the Fall College Semester comes to an end. Emails from my friends in China tell me about the travel plans among the Chinese population, a time of very crowded travel. It is an important time for family gatherings, concluding unfinished business, and paying off debts. All of this reminds me that time is simply passing very quickly, and by this time next year I will be able to share my experiences of the Chinese Lunar New Year with you, for I have already received a number of invitations to share this holiday with Mr. Lee's family.
The process of packing and sending items in advance of my arrival in China has already begun. Personal toiletries, my menthol Ciggarettes, coffee, are just some of the things I have reminded myself to bring after my last visit.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

street scenestreet scene
street scene

everything attracts a small crowd
television tower in Taizhoutelevision tower in Taizhou
television tower in Taizhou

the new amidst old
Riverview in TaizhouRiverview in Taizhou
Riverview in Taizhou

one of many beautiful views as one paddles along the river in the city of Taizhou
Street-side shopping storesStreet-side shopping stores
Street-side shopping stores

small shops found in every street's first floor selling everything from plastics to clocks
street-lifestreet-life
street-life

small shops and family street-restaurants line most streets


12th February 2006

There's a long way to go
Hans, I'm amazed by how many of your students have wished you well on this journey so far -it seems that you are a very inspiring teacher! I'm really looking forward to hearing about how the actual teaching goes. Your comments on US politics are interesting too -what negative aspects of China have you encountered? A chinese local making the same criticisms about 'the party' on the web would probably get his article blocked across China. It's the way people feel so tolerant of such restricted freedom of speech that often surprises me. Happy Chinese New Year!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb