Miami


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
November 7th 2006
Published: December 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The flight to La Paz took us to Miami for a 2 hour layover and was an interesting experience as I had not been in the US for nearly three years. Some of the most notable differences were the following:

In a matter of hours, we went from being the richest looking gringos everywhere we went, to the most raggedy looking people in the airport. I hadn't before realized how old and discolored my campo clothes had become and for the first time in a long time, was self conscious about my appearance.

Tiffany and I had lost our ability to speak in English about people right in front of them without their knowing what we were talking about. On several occasions I caught myself from saying inappropriate things in front of service personnel.

On a visit to the bathroom I was forced to throw the TP in the toilet because there was no garbage can. Before flushing I spent a couple of seconds looking at it thinking´no way this is going to work.´ But it did and we caught the plane to La Paz.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb