Welcome to Miami


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I caught an early plane from San Jose to Miami and had 7 hours to kill before my connecting flight to London. This time the Miami custom´s officer was not so nice - I wanted to ask her if it´s part of the job description that you have to be an asshole.

Instead of sitting at the airport feeling sorry for myself, I caught a bus to Ocean Drive and chilled out on South Beach trying to feel hyp and cool like everyone around me. I was clever (for once) and had worn my bikini under my clothes so was able to swim in the sea and top up my tan in the last of my holiday sunshine. It was a lovely day on the beach listening to good tunes on my walkman (which I hid in my bag as I couldn´t let those fancy Miami models see that I don´t have an ipod), and observing the plasticity of the locals. It´s a completely different world to Central America and I was fascinated by the people - in fact, I felt like I was at a zoo! In my short time there I felt out of place, surrounded by beautiful body-conscious people: ego-ridden men body building on the beach and busty blondes piercing my eardrums with twangy accents and empty conversation. But as long as they look good, who cares?

I walked along Ocean Drive enjoying the palm trees, the fancy convertables, the roller bladers and the famous Art Nouveau style of architecture. I snapped away at these sights like a complete tourist, then jumped in a yellow cab and headed back to the airport covered in sand, sea salt and sweat, which is how I boarded the plane...nice!

I'm back in smelly London where it's cold, windy and raining, and I´m feeling a little lost. There is so much left to see of Central America, and I now have the travel/scuba bug so badly that I may have to go back and beyond for a larger dose in the near future. For now I have to figure out where to put my hammock.

Thank you all my lovely friends for reading my blog! Until my next adventure, hasta luego.

P.S. I'm changing my name to Ana - it's far more exotic.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb