Grand Theft Auto


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cath:
Well we made it - can you believe we are here? We flippin can't...... we got off the plane and the warmth hit us - fantastic! Jumped in a cab and zoomed over to the South Beach area, the cabby put on the radio and both immediately thought Grand Theft Auto! I'm sure thats not a good thing and proof that extremely violent Playstation games are evil inventions, and since then Richard keeps pointing out trucks and cars telling me if he has driven them and whether they were any good (on the game I mean). As long as he suppresses any desire to leap out infront of cars to stop them, pull the driver out ...... and start hooning around town then its all OK!

Basically, we have been mooching around the various areas gauping at the locals, checking out the art deco buildings (makes our old building in Streatham look incredibly hip), visiting national parks, eating, drinking, and sleeping. We went to the Ventian Pool in a really pretty, leafy area called Coral Gables. It was an old limestone quarry that was converted into a pool with waterfalls and caves - quite nuts. Managed a few hours on the beach too which was bliss.

Its been great as a gentle introduction to our trip and given us chance to relax and take stock seeing as the last few weeks were quite hectic. We fly to Costa Rica today though and I can't wait for that.....

PS: This place is hilarious by the way - I don't think I have ever seen so many oversized trucks, sportscars, muslemen, fake boobs, and stupid little handbag rat dogs! Today was the ultimate though, we were on the beach and a fully oiled up muscle-guy came running past right by the water (so all could see) wearing only his running shoes, an ipod, a blue bandanna and a bright red thong - pure class!

Richard:
Hi all Miami has been kinda fun I think that I have been walking around with my mouth hanging open a bit there is so much to look at every second car is a V8 I have to laugh when they all seem to be crying about the gas price going up 37 cents a gallon in the last 5 years and taxi drivers are driving V8's that probably do about 15 miles to the gallon.

Some of the Art Deco Buildings are really impressive and well looked after I love the bold designs although wouldn't want to live in one myself. We went to a great Deco Diner last night it had about 300 menu choices and was something you would be likley to see at the flicks.

I have to laugh when I see areas that I have smashed up on my play station, even a cop shop that I rampaged through, I can't think of a better town to base the game on Ha Ha Ha I'll have to go back to the games again and have another look.

If you want to see some photos go to http://www.kodakgallery.co.uk/I.jsp?c=68l0hn5x.7lvtxe85&x=1&y=-gcwm9w



Advertisement



28th May 2007

Turtles!
Glad to hear you are ok but unfotunately due to global warming the turtles have been swimming to our shores instead! Who says you need to go abroard!
29th May 2007

yeehah
sounds like your trip is off to a great start. yay for you. we look forward to hearing more. arohanui xx
31st May 2007

Sunny Leeds
Enjoying a lovely turtle soup, you should try some while you are there! Of course we are not jealous at all! Looking forward to the next update on your adventures. XX

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.4kb