Last Day in Paradise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Long Key
March 21st 2014
Published: March 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Last Day in Paradise

I slept til 8:30am making it an 11 hour sleep. Must have been really tired. It was a slow morning after that, just puttering around putting this away and that and wondering how the sequence of events would go. All I have planned to do today is get ready for an early start in the morning. I want to visit a friend for lunch in Palm Beach Gardens and then get to Flagler Beach where I have a reservation for Saturday night. Yes, sad but true it's time to get back in the ice and snow. Booooo

There was one store I wanted to go to and my neighbor told me about this great little resturant tucked away only the natives and boaters knew about it. So off to the store first where I got a really nice summer, go out to dinner, outfit and a Life is Good T shirt. Then the hunt began for the hideaway eatery. It took me 3 turn arounds before I found 15th st, it looked like a driveway, then through the not so nice part of town, then through another bar's parking lot and there it was! The resturant was upstairs, the down stairs was a fueling station for boats. Don't smoke on the upper porch!

I found a lovely table in the shade and was looking forward to a rum punch but they only served beer or wine, so beer it was and boy did it taste good. I ordered a fish sandwich and fries, I was told the fries were not to be missed. There was a lot of boat activity so I was entertained while waiting for my food. pictures

The food was delicious and after eating I looked around the docks a little bit. There was a sail boat for hire called "Second Wind" that would take you on a sunset cruise complete with dinner, a lunch cruise, or a multi-day cruise complete with crew. Might want to do that one day.

When I got in the car the temp read 100 degrees, I told you it was hot! picture

Went home and finished getting ready to head our in the morning then took Oscar for a walk and went down to the picnic area to read my book and have one last look at the beautiful ocean and bay. One last sunset.

So now I'm all ready for the morning and look forward to this part of the adventure. Don't know if I'll blog along the way, will probably be too tired. Thanks for sharing my adventures this winter. It's been a great trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb