Hermit Crabs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Long Key
March 13th 2014
Published: March 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I decided it was time to see sunrise so today was the day. A little bleary-eyed walking down the beach, I met one of the workers here and she told me there was a sting ray laying eggs in the sand if I wanted to see it. Dah! Here was a sing ray a few inches from the edge of the water, just enough water to be submerged, and she was "flying" with her body to create a hole in the sand under her. She got down a few inches and then must have deposited her eggs there. There is a picture but the sun was not up yet so the lighting is not the best, but then she might be noticed by a predator. That woke me up!

As the sun started to brighten the sky the colors changed and became brighter. It was a guess exactly where the sun would rise. I was hoping it wasn't behind the jut of land that would be in the way. Not often is one so lucky as to be able to see the sun rise and set all on the same beach. I'll let the pictures tell the story.

Today ended up being a lazy day. Some book reading, some laying in the sun, a little walk and then I discovered a new subject to photograph. Hermit crabs are fairly abundant on the end of the beach that is usually under water. There are mangroves that go almost into the water so you can't walk there even when the tide is out as you sink up to your ankle. Today there was a particularly low tide so walking further down the beach was possible. The little critters were everywhere.

There was a bunch of them all clumped together and I couldn't figure out what they were doing. Later I learned that they were fighting over shells. Don't know if somebody lost theirs, one died, or a new shell was found but there sure was a lot of goings on. The lighting was really nice so I got several good shots. Enjoy the little critters, they are no bigger than an inch or two.

Later I went to the store and stopped at a little shop that seemed inviting. Nothing to buy there but the store clerk was really nice and after talking for some time he told me about a local fishing boat that was a great time and a bargain too. So on my way home I stopped at the Marathon Lady and talked to the person in the booth about the trip. I am signed up for Tuesday morning and look forward to the boat trip and the experience of reef fishing.

The afternoon sped by and before long my eye lids said it was time for bed. The sun doesn't set til 7:30 so by 9 I can't stay awake. Good thing there is no tv reception.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

this reminds me of Pirates of Caribbean  this reminds me of Pirates of Caribbean
this reminds me of Pirates of Caribbean

the characters walk around with those funny shells on


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb