Lazy Tuesday and Boating Wednesday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Marathon
August 20th 2009
Published: August 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DSC03146DSC03146DSC03146

Fishing off the back of the boat.
Hello! So I didn't make a blog yesterday! It was just a really nice, relaxing Tuesday and I only took a couple pictures all day. When I woke up in the morning, Todd, Melissa, and Grandpa were going fishing so I decided to join in on that action. We got the boat out below the bridge and let loose with our fishing lines. Of course, I didn't catch a single thing. Grandpa was catching fish left and right, but they were all way too small to keep. After about 20 minutes, I decided to sleep (haha!) for a nice 2-hour or something nap. The fishing isn't too great right now, but hopefully if the weather and water conditions improve, we can go fishing out in the ocean instead of the little canals or bayside.

After fishing the girls went to the store and we had a faboulous meal of grilled salmon and steamed shrimp. It was so delicious. AND that was the extent of Tuesday. Talk about island living--it's so nice to not have anything to do ALL day!

This morning when I woke up, Melissa, Todd, and Grandpa had taken the boat to see if there was any
DSC03148DSC03148DSC03148

I think Grandpa has ANOTHER one!
good diving. It was super murky and scary, but Todd braved the waters and caught two lobsters! Hopefully tomorrow him and Melissa will catch more and we can have a lobster party. The rest of us just relaxed by the pool and swam. Later, Grandpa helped me finished a 1000-piece puzzle I had started. S excited to have finally finished it! For dinner we decided to take the boat to this restaurant/bar where you can just park your boat on the outside and jump on off to eat! It was really nice to just sit back, feel the breeze, and watch the boats in the harbor (I think it was a harbor). On the way back I decided to drive the boat! It was pretty fun, but I'm not going to lie, it was harder to keep in control than I thought!

After dinner we were all stuffed and just sat around the tv. Max and myself took a nice bike ride to the beach (a little over a mile away I think) and dipped our toes in the ocean. It was soooo warm. There are a lot of crabs around the island and they sure are big! It
DSC03154DSC03154DSC03154

Group shot.
was scary seeing them when on the bike because they would legitimately run at your tires ready to fight! Anyways, we sure had a nice day today, like most every day, and plan on fishing and perhaps going to the beach tomorrow. Stay tuned! Love you guys!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

DSC03155DSC03155
DSC03155

On the way to the restaurant.
DSC03156DSC03156
DSC03156

Pretty Mama.
DSC03160DSC03160
DSC03160

These are the radio towers that broadcast information from America to Cuba 24/7.
DSC03167DSC03167
DSC03167

Captain Alison!
DSC03175DSC03175
DSC03175

The 1000-piece puzzle Grandpa and myself finished! Hooray!


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb