Southern U.S. Day 11


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
May 14th 2013
Published: May 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 11 May 14, 2013

When I woke up this morning I felt miserable. Between walking 789 miles wearing flip flops the previous hot, muggy day without drinking enough fluids and drinking a case or two of rum, I was sore from head to toe, a little nauseous, and freezing. I had some coffee, drank some water, took some Tylenol and went back to bed. After several hours I had recuperated enough to drive Chris to the airport so she could check in and print her boarding pass. Still felt like shit, and hadn’t eaten anything, but able to drive.

Florida doesn’t require that you wear helmets on motorcycles. As I only have one helmet with me I let Chris wear it. Her head is more valuable than mine, and I tend to drive really, really careful when I am not wearing a helmet.

I’m not sure if you have noticed that I don’t have as much hair on my head as I used to, but it is true, the top of my head is prone to sunburn. To prevent sunburn I wore my Tilley hat on the ride to the Airport. I wish I could have taken a picture of that, me with my Tilley hat and Chris wearing a bright yellow helmet with shorts.

We stopped for gas and then went to Mallory Square to pick up a gift for Jenine. I saw it the night before, but being half lit, I decided to let Chris see it before I bought it. It’s a good thing too, because I was going to buy probably the gaudiest thing on the whole island.

We went back to the condo, and I forced a little food into me and lay down again. Around three o’clock the Tylenol started wearing off, so I got up, took more Tylenol and ate a little more.

We all did laundry and packed and for dinner, cooked steaks on the patio. By the time dinner was done I was feeling like a human being again.

It is 7 pm and I am writing this on the patio and the weather is absolutely gorgeous.

Chris and Joe are leaving at 6:15 tomorrow morning to catch their flight, and I will be leaving shortly after that. My plan is to go across alligator alley and proceed up the western coast of Florida. I am planning on being in New Orleans Friday evening.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb