Southern U.S. Day 10


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
May 13th 2013
Published: May 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 10 May 13, 2013

Joe went fishing in the morning. Chris & I walked to Camiles restaurant for breakfast not too far from the southernmost buoy. I got another blister on the walk to the restaurant; these sandals are not working out for me. Breakfast was very good and reasonably priced. After breakfast we walked over to the southernmost buoy and took a picture.

We walked back to the condo very, very slowly so I wouldn’t make the blister any worse. It was pretty hot and muggy so when we got back to the condo we relaxed and cooled off for a while. After my body temperature returned to something south of almost dead, we walked over to the Truman White House for the tour. I wore flip flops to avoid more blisters. It hurts to walk in flip flops, but at least they don’t give me blisters.

It was a very interesting tour; we both enjoyed it a lot.

We then went to Mallory Square to get gifts for Cassidy & Everett. Then we walked back to the condo and relaxed and cooled off while waiting for Joe to get back. He caught two very large sharks on his fishing trip.

I had a very large rum & coke before we went to dinner; it is very unusual for me to start drinking that early.

We walked to Pepe’s on Caroline Street, a restaurant that many people had recommended. The service was excellent, the food was good, and the prices were reasonable (by Key West standards).

I had two rum runners at Pepe’s and they were almost as strong as I make my drinks, so when I left the restaurant, I was feeling pretty good.

Chris & Joe went back to the condo & I went to Mallory Square to take pictures of the sunset, the entertainers, and the tourists. It is fun taking pictures after you have been drinking a lot. The pictures may not be very good, but it was certainly fun.

After the sunset, I walked down Duval Street to get to the condo and continued taking pictures. I took over 500 pictures.

Chris wears a pedometer and told me that we walked over 19,000 steps (roughly 789 miles) over the course of the day.

Got back to the condo around 8:30 and drank. A lot.

Advertisement



15th May 2013

789 miles
Hmmmm.... walking? Rum walking maybe....

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb