Southern U.S. Day 6


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
May 9th 2013
Published: May 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post




Day 6 May 9, 2013





Chris went on the internet and found a great place to eat breakfast called “the Deli” about six blocks away from where wee are staying. The menu looked good and the prices were surprisingly reasonable. The weather was perfect – mid 70’s light breeze, sunny skies, it doesn’t get much better than this. When we arrived at the restaurant we discovered that “The Deli” had metamorphed into “Better than Sex”. We couldn’t find out if it was indeed better than sex because it only serves desserts and didn’t open until 4 pm. This is yet another example that the internet is not to be taken at face value. We ended up eating at Denny’s because it was nearby and we were hungry.





After breakfast Chris & I decided to take the trolley tour of Key West; Joe had to work. We both enjoyed the tour immensely, I think Chris and I will do trolley tours everywhere we visit. It gives you an excellent overview of the area along with a lot of history.





After the tour we returned to the condo and had lunch – snacks we bought last night at the world’s most expensive grocery store (located next door to the world’s most expensive liquor store.)





Right now it is 2 pm and I am sitting on the patio of the condo, which is covered and surrounded by tropical plants. The only sound is the background humming of air conditioners, there is a light breeze and the temperature is 83. I am catching up with my blog, postcards, etc., while Chris & Joe went to the pool to read and relax. I am going to find it difficult to leave Key West next Wednesday.





Chris & Joe plan on going to Duval Street to have some frozen drinks. I am working on my third bottle of rum since I left New Jersey so I decided to give my liver a break; I will wait till it gets dark before I start drinking.





We wanted to see the sunset at Mallory Square so we left for dinner early; we weren’t really hungry because we had been snacking all afternoon, so we just had sandwiches for dinner. Mallory Square was amazing – there were tightrope walkers, fire eaters, hula hoopers, musicians, artists, and tons of tourists.





I took a million pictures of the sunset and then we came back to the condo and drank.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb