Key West


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
January 15th 2012
Published: January 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

NYE!NYE!NYE!

The night before our departure. WHOO!
The fam and I usually do a January getaway every year. We really don't have a choice as Tennessee is completely gray for most of December through March. (Howevs, this year we didn't get below freezing til just this week I think... so it was actually about the same temperature back home as it was in Key West, especially since Key West was going through a SEVERE WINTER BLAST. It was like 45F, chill out Floridians, that is NOT cold LOL)

ANYWAY, we left for the airport at 6:00am on New Year's Day. Never gonna do that again. Hungover/still kind of drunk from NYE, barely 2 hours of sleep, and food poisoning. It was not a fun day for travel, but when it only takes 4 hours to get to the beach, I really can't complain.

Our hotel was right next to the airport, so I don't know why we had to pay the lady 20 f'n dollars when we literally could have walked. But the hotel was perfect, it was sunny and around 70 - which is what I like to call Rachie weather - and we right away went to the pool to do some relaxin'. Later
KeyWestKeyWestKeyWest

At the Hyatt Windward Pointe pool with Nick :)
Nick and I got conned into going to "Publix" which turned into walking down Duvall Street, eating a 3 hour dinner, and THEN Publix. This would have been a fine evening, except I was still practically pooping myself from the McDonald's from yesterday.

Thankfully I was fine by the next day, undoubtedly cured by poolside relaxation in the sunshine. A lot of kids screaming and running around, but even they couldn't bother me. I believe this was the day of planning what to do for the rest of the week - no, I know it was 'cause there were free mimosas by the pool that morning. And you know I go absolutely mimosas for mimosas :D We decided to do a bike your around the island on Tuesday and a sunset booze cruise on Wednesday night and then just whatever the f we wanted for the rest of the time.

The bike tour was fun, as they always are. Our tour guide Lloyd didn't really explain a lot about the city, but led us through on sidewalks and one-way streets. He did feed us avocado with SPIKE! and coconut and a carissa froot. I spit it all out
KeyWestKeyWestKeyWest

Bear on the porch explaining the rulez.
LOL. But we did get to go to this man-made rainforest and look at these wonderful parrots. I even got to hold Mr. Peach until he held my eye-contact for a little too long and I shooed him away incase he went bananas on me. I don't know these birds! So they were wonderful. I kind of want one now, actually.

Sunset booze cruise was an absolute scream. Everyone there was in a good mood to begin with, but after the 2nd tasting of champagne I feel like everyone, self included, when koo-koo-banana-crackers. Bear's eyes were swirly, my mom was chatting up strangers, Alex was hitting on everybody, and Nick kept repeating "I am way too drunk! waay too drunk right now". There were two champagnes, 3 whites, and 3 reds to sample and you could have however much you wanted PLUS a vegetable platter AND cured meats and cheese platter. Redefined the meaning of 'dreamboat' if you ask me. We saw dolphins, some birds, flipped the bird to the other tour boat, saw Bear fall in love with both captains, and of course saw a gorgeous sunset and later a sky full of stars. One of the more
KeyWestKeyWestKeyWest

View from our balcony
fun tours I've ever taken. DO IT!

Then the rest of the vacation was, again, relaxing by the pool, relaxing on the porch, watching the Iowa caucus, and playing card games that make you angry at the people you love most. We went out a few more times and ate conch fritters, drank bloody marys, and saw that lighthouse, the Hemingway House, and other touristy fun things. Overall a great vacation, and I wanted to go back as soon as I got home. Key West, you got me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Rainforest stop on the bike tour.
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Me and Mr. Peach. Gorgeous birds!
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Tree in the rainforest
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Nick and I at the "real" southernmost point.
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Nice shot from the sailboat
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Home of the sunset
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

The fam (minus pops :() on the booze crooze
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Bear and her captain, Christian
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Southernmost line in the US!!!
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Nick and I at the Southernmost point
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Hemingway House. We saw one cat and left - had a plane to catch
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

Lighthouse
KeyWestKeyWest
KeyWest

rando street


Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb