Key West


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
January 1st 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Our final port of call was Key West – a lovely place that’s the southern most part of the States. As we were entering U.S. territory, the “aliens” had to go through customs again which seemed to me rather stupid, as we wouldn’t have been on the ship unless we’d gone through customs to begin with.

Key West reminded me of New Orleans with its houses, very quaint with all their Christmas decorations still up and lovely weather. I could live in Key West, even though its quite a small island.

I'd prebooked a bike tour for the morning, so purposely missed the pub crawl that was also organised for the group. I would liked to have gone to a few of these 4-5 pubs, but just couldn't handle a day of boozing again. Would you believe, one of these pubs had stark naked waiters - now that's what I call equality!

So rode around the town instead and when returning my bike, bumped into my pal Alan that I'd spent the day with on Coco Cay discussing everything under the sun. So he joined me for a crayfish lunch, then we jumped on the small tourist train that goes around the town's streets and saw the sights in the afternoon.

Was a really nice way to spend a day. Meanwhile, the rest of the group no doubt nursed a hangover before meeting at the sunset bar, pre-dinner drinks, etc. Me, I was feeling great.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

A street performerA street performer
A street performer

You have to pay to take photos of these guys, but managed to snap this whilst he wasn't looking.
The train that takes you around townThe train that takes you around town
The train that takes you around town

A good one and a half hour trip and enjoyable, although some of the commentary is funny.
Chicken on RoofChicken on Roof
Chicken on Roof

Chickens run free in Key West


Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb