Damn it I'm 30.......But so far it's been a blast!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
March 9th 2009
Published: March 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it took a while but I've finally come to terms with the fact that I turned 30 last month and DAMN I did it in style!!!!

My actual birthday was pretty quiet I went out to dinner with a friend. It was a mexican restaurant and I had mexicans sing happy birthday to me in spanish. That was right after they smeared cream on my nose and upper lip to look like a mexican moustache.......How rude!!!! I was not impressed. My friend thought it was hilarious, at least I got a free dessert out of the whole deal.

My birthday was on a Thursday night so it was off to the usual local hang out The Blue Bar. One of my friends organised cupcakes which she bought out about five minutes after the whole bar sang happy brithday.....it was a little disorganised but pretty awesome. I certainly wasn't expecting it because I was keeping the whole brithday thing pretty quiet. I had only told Olivia because it was the whole reason I was going to Key west and Olivia was my road tripping buddy.

On the Saturday night we went to a benefit to help raise money for a county club in Lewisburg that burnt down a couple of months ago.....It was cold.....Apparently around freezing point.....But it was all good. I figured I had the perfect solution just keep on drinking until you can't feel the cold anymore......so drink I did....And then I drank some more.......and more!!! Needless to say I cant really tell you any details about the night. Apparently there was music and lots of it a bunch of bands agreed to play for the cause. I danced on a very uneven make-shift dance floor so between that, 3 inch heels and alochol. I'm pretty sure things got a little untidy.

Next stop on the 30th celebration trail was Augusta, Georgia and the beginning of a 5 day party with The Mulch Brothers. I got it off to a flying start by joining the boys on stage (with a bunch of other girls) dancing with all the band members and then taking over the lead singers Mic to belt out a couple of lines of the chorus to Pour some Sugar on me by Def Leppard. The after party was a little quieter than the last time we were in Georgia but I did get to hear the D.I.N.G.O song which is a modified version of the kids song Bingo was his name-oh. modified purely for my benefit and the lyrics are about the dingo eating the baby......probably not really politically correct but definitely funny.

The following day we drove 12 hours all the way down to the most southern part of the US Key West Florida. We got in about 3am and wandered the streets before finally deciding to get some sleep. The next few days were a total blast. I had my photo taken with a couple of pythons one called Sir Squeeze-a-lot and one called Lemon Drop. It was bike week so there were Harley riders all over the place. I posed on a couple of Harley's and rode around the keys at 2am in the morning on the back of some guys bike. I rode a bull, Pole danced, made drunken phone calls to the MFS. (Glad you guys got to check out the web streaming. hope you got to see Mr March New York 2009 he had one seriously awesome tattoo) Olivia and I were asked if we wanted to join the wall of fame at the Harley store......We drew the line right there and refused ot pose topless, we cruised the keys in a Mustang convertible spent some time on the beach...sold a few CD's for the boys and drank A LOT of alcohol! Dani can back me up on that one.....The bar in Key West has 3 cameras that stream live on the internet so I spent a lot of time texting back and forth with Dani while she watched me dance and drink the nght away.

The ride back was a long haul we drove 17 hours straight and made it home about 4am in the morning but it was totally worth it and I would do it all again in a heartbeat. It felt like I was living the rock star lifestyle and I totally recommend it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb