Ridiculous Facial Hair, Aging Gracefully & Disney Again!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Jacksonville
February 26th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dickhead at DisneyDickhead at DisneyDickhead at Disney

What a tool!
It's been a while since we've posted anything and this one is a chance to catch up on a couple of the smaller things we've been up to since we last posted - most notably I turned 30. We arrived back from the Snow Trip the day before my birthday and arranged to have a quiet dinner of my favorite American dish (Ribs) with our friends Leanne and Andy. Unbeknown to me my lovely, but scheming wife had been plotting with Leanne and had arranged a surprise birthday party for me (I've always said never trust two blondes together - regardless of what Jamo thinks). So we arrived at the restaurant to be greeted by about 25 people which I was not expecting at all! Best of all, Leanne had arranged a 'Face Cake' for me - for those who don't know what Face Cake is, you can have a photo printed as icing on cake using a special machine. So of course Leanne had used a photo of me from the Mo'vember Calendar so everyone was able to chow down on a piece of my ugly head sporting a handle bar moustache and ridiculous 'Blue Steel' look. I must say
Blue Steel Handlebar Face CakeBlue Steel Handlebar Face CakeBlue Steel Handlebar Face Cake

Get some of this in ya head!!
that there is now quite a bit of grey sneaking into the hair now and it's almost embarrassing to have a beard or goatee now because it looks very 'salt and pepper'. I have to say that it is difficult to complain though because at least my hair is still there much to Ian's disgust (I'm touching the biggest piece of wood in the world right now, I'm actually laying on my desk to type this to have more surface contact with the wood). Anyway, it was a great night, and I had absolutely no idea it was happening!!



I'm going to step back in time now as shortly before Christmas I had the opportunity to play Sawgrass - our local PGA Tour Golf Course. In one of the previous entries I described how I am been 'volunteered' by Fiona to work at the course while the tour was in town and one of the rewards if you clocked up over 24 hours was a free round on the Championship Course. This course was amazing - it normally costs about $300 to play and I sure got my money's worth. There is more freakin' water on that
Da BoyzzzDa BoyzzzDa Boyzzz

Here's the group of guys I've been hanging out with. I like them because they make me seem good-looking.
course than when Noah went on a 40 day fishing safari. I think I lost 15 balls into the water which averaged almost one per hole, and I think there was a lot less than 3 holes with no water. I did have one moment of glory though - on a par 3 I tee'd off and landed the ball within a foot of the pin and it must have rolled within centimeters of the hole as it was almost directly behind the flag - needless to say I missed the birdie putt and walked away with a par, but I was still happy with that! Facial hair was definitely the winner on the day....



Finally, in early February we decided it was time to head down and visit some more of the Disney Parks. We went down with Leanne, Andy and their 19 month old Devin to visit Disney Studios and the Animal Kingdom. The highlight of the Studios was a vehicle stunt show which involved some pretty impressive moves, but the funniest event of the weekend happened on the Animal Kingdom Safari. This park has an 'open plain' zoo in which the animals roam freely
New York New YorkNew York New YorkNew York New York

Here we are in pretend New York City.
and people are driven around to see the animals in their natural environment. Unfortunately the line for this ride was 70 minutes long, so we waited and waited and waited some more. Devin was so well behaved that whole time it was amazing. Eventually we arrived on the ride and Devin was wide-eyed seeing his first Giraffe, but then the poor little guy was tuckered out and fell asleep about 3 minutes into the ride. Was pretty funny!

Righto, that finishes up the little things we've been up to. Our next big trip is down to Mexico in late March followed very quickly by a trip to New York City, so stand by for those. Stay in touch and we'll put some more photos up soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Mouseketeer??Mouseketeer??
Mouseketeer??

Devin with his Mickey ears on.....
The Group at DisneyThe Group at Disney
The Group at Disney

This is us catching the last of the day at Disney Studios.
Downtown DisneyDowntown Disney
Downtown Disney

The girls enjoying everything on offer at Downtown Disney, the best pub and restaurant area in Orlando.
Whaddawankaaaa!!!Whaddawankaaaa!!!
Whaddawankaaaa!!!

Shithouse player, but damn I look good!
Good Lookin' RoostersGood Lookin' Roosters
Good Lookin' Roosters

Here's Jas and I in front of the club house. Jas is also Australian Navy posted to Jacksonville.
The famous 17thThe famous 17th
The famous 17th

Here I am only moments before putting 5 balls into the water trying to get on the green!


28th February 2008

Cake Eater
I think the title says it all. You really need to launch that Movember calendar on a webpage and see how many hits you can get. Can I send it over the DRN - might see how many people throw in comments. We enjoy reading your blog and hope that the US has been as great as your blog has described it as being.
16th March 2008

mmm.... Face cake....
It sure does look cold too. The cake, that is.

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb