A long trip to Gainesville


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Gainesville
August 11th 2006
Published: December 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

U of FloridaU of FloridaU of Florida

just across the inn. the hotel is convenient.
Dont know if it should be considered a "trip". Well, as long as i went away, a trip it was!

I began planning the journey with hotel.com, priceline.com, and chepflight.com, and many more .coms that accommodated the planning. My original destination was Minneapolis. Meeing my girlfriend there, settling down for a week, with the new apartment and stuff, and start heading west to San Francisco and Disneyland in Anaheim. The first summer away together.

Why not extend it to the most most origin, helping my girlfriend packed and moved? since the air ticket from Asia to the US was not cheap (high fixed cost, anyway). So! U of Florida! Gainesville it is!

I booked Holidays Inn from their website. It locates just across the university. I tried to book a room at the University's Hotel but it was full (it was cheaper, and it is in the campus). (my gf gave up her apt. coz she was leaving.)

the .coms didnt seem to help in booking a hotel room in Gainesville. it said the hotel was full but it wasnt at the hotel's website. Try checking at the hotel's website too. the prices are about the same

Starting with a long queue at the Bangkok Airport, a day after the new terrorist's attack interception, they checked and they checked and they checked. So the flight was delay, and the transit window was 15 minutes at Narita, Tokyo. I ran like crazy.

Northwest Airline was using Boeing 747 for long flights from Narita to Minneapolis/ St.Paul. I would say the economy seats are too small for a long flight! a more comfortable way would be transitting at Portland to make it 3 shorter flights (which take longer, of course). After I landed at MSP, I took US Air / America West to Gainesville via Charlotte. The flights were fine. Good jets, nice leather seats. Anyway, I learned that a cheaper way might have been Sun Country Airline to Orlando. But you have to find your way to Gainesville yourself.

Gainesville has proven to me that there is nothing to go sightseeing except go visiting my girlfriend.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb