Fort Lauderdale, Florida - 26th May


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We are now free of the Great Railway Tour itinerary, so we can make our own! Di is up at 06:45, (me a little later!!). We decide to have breakfast in the hotel and we get a table on the terrace overlooking the beach.It is about 09:30 when we have breakfast, and is really enjoyable. The hotal is really nice, a lot better than our first impressions when we originally arrived yesterday evening. I guess it is more "chic" than luxurious, with it's glass wall swimming pool and cavity glass walls with jelly fish swimming in it!! During breakfast we see a Vintage American Car Rally driving up the beach boulevard, We can't seem to get away from car rally's!!

After breakfast we go to the pool to do some sunbathing and swimming. At around noon we go for a drink at the pool bar. I then decide to go for a walk along the beach boulevard, I walk for about 15 mins and the road is closed. There is a massive Beach Party going on for Memorial Day with groups, Barbecues, Bars and the cars that we saw earlier are all lined up and on show.

I am sweltering it is in the 80's. I see "giant" Margarita's and decide to have one, I order at the bar and the barmaid says "you can pay when you have the other on" - it is then I realise that it is 2 for the price of 1 - and they are big buggers!! I finish the two, and I am feeling a bit wobbly!! I decide to go back to the hotel for Di to tell her about the party going on just down the road. The hotel pool by now is absolutely packed. We walk back down the road to "the party". Di has a giant Margarita,but she realises them I am "worst for wear", I am very soon limited to lemonade.

We eat barbeque at the beach and stay around to listen to the groups. There is a Beachboy tribute, and we stay around to listen to the Jimmy Buffet tribute, which is brilliant! We get a bike ridden trishaw back to the hotel and have an early night.(jarmies - bed for Bernie!)

It has been a great day and I am really impressed with Ft Lauderdale. It was probably made by the fact that it was the Memorial Day Holiday week-end, say what you want about the Americans, but they certainly know how to party!!

Tomorrow we go on the Caribbean Cruise!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb