Bobbing for Fish in Destin!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Destin
May 4th 2006
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

d1d1d1

Good morning Destin! View from our balcony. Look at these colors. This is Florida my friends! FLORIDA!
Yesterday, May 3rd, April and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary. Yup, 10 years! I was 19 years old when I met April. She was my 2nd serious relationship. If someone would've told me that I would find someone I clicked with so much, at such a young age....I would laugh and say YOUR CRAZY, but low and behold -- that is what happened. April gets me. April and I share the same humor. April calms me. She is water and I am fire. She is quiet and I am loud. She is more serious (I mean that in the loosest way possible) and I am more wild. She is the ying to my yang (woah). We are as different as can be and yet so alike in many, many ways. In ten years I think we may have had 10 fights. Keep in mind, we are two girls. That is pretty good if you ask me. Our fights consist of bickering and then laughter. I don't think there has ever been an argument that hasn't ended with laughter. I think that AND the fact that April is my best friend is what holds this relationship together. We sure do laugh
d2d2d2

Ape and I would love to parasail some day! It looks like so much fun.
a lot. A lot. Oh yeeeeeah....looooooooooots of laughter. Who else would put a dirty sock on their hand so that I can take a picture of it drinking from a margarita? Who would walk around with a stuffed llama so that I can take pictures of it near rock formations that existed when dinosaurs walked the earth? Who would take a 1/2 naked teddy bear with a $3.00 shirt and put it inside a cannon for me? Who would laugh hysterically when I bought a curly/dread lock type hair-extension for a small, stuffed animal shark? Who never takes my "Italian fire" too seriously? Who kills bugs when I run like a sissy or protects me from an army of ants? Who orders a soda refill when my mouth is full? Who remembers to tell the waitress no eggs in my salad or fried rice? Who takes things back to the store that I would never have the nerve to do? Who comes with me to the dentist to protect me? Who drives over big bridges for me or runs to the store at 5am to buy cupcakes when I am not feeling good? Who cooks delicious food for us most
d3d3d3

Yes, this guy is fishing from the beach!
nights? Goes down the dark caller at night to flip the switch when the lights go out at 2am? April -- that's who. I could go on and on, but I think you get the idea. April is a good person. A good soul. A hard worker. A best friend. A good sister. A good daughter and mostly -- the best partner a person could have and I love her for that. For all homophobic's out there -- try to judge this? We don't hurt anyone. We don't judge anyone. We simply live our lives and try to get by. We aren't any different then you. I knew I was gay at age 11. I didn't choose this. April didn't choose to be gay. It is who we are. I love guys. I think many guys are very attractive. I just feel "right" sharing my life with -- April. With that said.....let's continue on to our great day in Destin! :-)

April and I had a great anniversary. Not only did we get to spend it in Destin on a beautiful, sunny, warm, spring day......we also got to share it with "da mammas"! We spent most of the day
d4d4d4

I love this picture.
at the gorgeous beach. Ape and I were at the beach by 12:30pm. Mom and Elizabeth were there by 1:00pm. We didn't leave the beach until 3:30/4:00pm. That is a long time for 4 northern girls. The weather couldn't be any more perfect. Abundant sunshine. Temp around 80. Cool breeze. The water was also just warm enough to jump in and enjoy yourself. Much warmer than it gets up north. Within the next few weeks it'll be even warmer. Ape, a.k.a. "the fish", was SO happy to be in the water. She was splashing, swimming and smiling! I, however, was more cautious. The water is crystal clear. No rocks. No shells. Usually no seaweed (there was a little this time) -- perfect swimming conditions! I was just a tad bit nervous because of the fishing pole protruding from the sand waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay out into the ocean. I never saw someone fishing from a beach before. If someone is FISHING.....I am sure it isn't for messages in a bottle......it is for FISH! My word....that is definitely the THEME Of this Destin trip --- fish....woah. BUT, I had my little fish protector (a.k.a. April). She kept an eye open for anything not HUMAN.
d5d5d5

April and Elizabeth enjoying the gorgeous ocean.
I was bobbing up and down, riding the waves, having the time of my life when out of the corner of my eye I see a tiny, miniscule school of fish....like guppies. I yelped (literally....oh, the shame) and April came to the rescue. She tried to convince me that the school of fish was seaweed. I knew better but applaud her efforts. I simply swam over to another section -- fishless and continued to have a good time. Before I knew it Elizabeth was heading in the water, another lover of the ocean (a.k.a. April's swim buddy). I saw my mom, bless her heart, attempt to walk in the ocean but scurry away (with her water shoes no less -- did I mention the sand is powder soft, cool and there are NO rocks, shells or anything but SOFT sand)? She opted to sun instead of swim. She is more a pool lass then an ocean lass. I left the water to sit with my mom while April and Elizabeth enjoyed the open sea. Everything seemed so vivid against the emerald green water and snow white sand. The people next to us had great colored swim shorts on. Vibrant yellows,
d6d6d6

April and Elizabeth looking at the tiny fish that were chasing them!
orange and pink. It made for some great pictures. The contrast of colors were breathtaking.

While my mom and I were slowly changing colors and nationalities, we noticed April and Elizabeth.....um, well....scurrying around in circles. From a distant it looked like they were looking for something. It was SO amusing! April had that "I'll fix it" look and Elizabeth had that "where the heck is it" look. I had that THIS IS FUNNY @*&#*@^ LOOK! Mom had that I AM SLOWLY ROASTING, THIRSTY AND FINDING THIS FUNNY AS &!*$&*! LOOK! This went on for at least a 1/2 hour. When they finally got out of the water they said they were playing with.......gulp.........FISH!!! YES, small and according to them, CUTE tiny fish. They said the fish were chasing them. There was an orange one. A little one with black & white stripes and some really tiny ones with rollarblades and pom pom's. They were so excited!!!!!!!!! I thanked my lucky stars I wasn't there because I would've been even more tramautized than I already am. Fish -- chasing me? Crap! I don't care how tiny or cute or patriotic they are!! This robust girl would've needed a lifeguard!
d7d7d7

Mom rubbing on the lotion!

Anyway, we all sat in the sun and tanned....until my thermometer popped up and said I was done. You know it's time to leave the beach when you are subconsciously throwing sand on your legs and arms to put out the fire! Or better yet, when you look at your mother and her face is the color of the fire truck. Time to go!!!!

We all freshened up and went to dinner at Jim-N-Nicks BBQ. This is the place to go when you are as hungry as we were. Mom and Elizabeth have only had BBQ at Memphis Roadhouse in North Attleboro, MA or at chain type restaurants (or, of course, home). This was there first time having SOUTHERN BBQ and, well, southern food in general. To make a long story short -- they loved it! The portions were WAY HUGE. The BBQ turkey delicious. The potatoes the size of one of my breasts. Yes, da mammas experienced SOUTHERN FULL. That deep, deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep south full feeling. Dear I say it was almost PAULA DEAN Southern Full!!!!!!!!! For those of you who don't know who Paula Dean is please go to www.foodnetwork.com or watch the food network and then join
d8d8d8

My legs slowly roasting in the sun!
a gym and get your heart checked.

After dinner we did some errands and then went back to the room so I could watch Ghost Hunters (one of the best shows on TV if you ask me -- and the episode did not disappoint. They were at a Saint Augustine lighthouse no less and OH MY GOD, they caught some amazing stuff. So much so it made the hairs on my arms stand up and brought tears to me eyes -- yikes -- it was cool).

Which brings us to today, Thursday, May 4th. We are driving to Orlando and will be staying at The Portofino Bay Hotel. I can't wait to relax by the pool and maybe go to a theme park or two. I was kinda burnt out with Orlando -- but that was short lived. It's one of those places you can't help but love.....especially when you stay at a Universal Orlando resort!

Until next time....

Happy Travels!
Des




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

d9d9
d9

Vivid colors and beach goers!
d10d10
d10

Vivid pigeon and beach goer! No one should EVER have to be THIS close to a psychotic looking pigeon. I half expected him to pull out a switch-blade!
d11d11
d11

Can you spot April??
d12d12
d12

What are they laughing at??? Something seems FISHY? Hmmm....
d13d13
d13

Ape and Elizabeth playing in the ocean!
d14d14
d14

Jim-N-Nicks BBQ here we come!!!
d15d15
d15

Cute decor!
d17d17
d17

This mamma has been in the sun too!!!!
d18d18
d18

April had burn envy -- but have no fear! Her burn miraculously appeared later in the evening -- seriously.
d19d19
d19

Beautiful sunset!
d25d25
d25

Fun with pictures! Here I am at the beach yesterday.
d21d21
d21

Me & mom at beach yesterday.
d22d22
d22

Taken at beach yesterday.
d23d23
d23

Taken at beach yesterday.
d24d24
d24

Mom's water shoe on the most softest, rockless, cool to the touch sand in America! LOL!


Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 69; dbt: 0.2099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb