Home away from home.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Destin
March 31st 2018
Published: March 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

When it comes to the weekend, after a very hectic work week, there’s never a better place to go then the beach. My go to mini vacation spot is hands down Destin Florida! It’s beautiful white sand beaches and blue water is my home away from home. It’s the perfect part of Florida to go to if youre not into the big party scene and love to eat great food and shop. Every time I stay here I always stay close to the main strip. There is public access to beaches, amazing restaurants and plenty of stores to satisfy your vacation shopping needs. AJ’s is one of my favorite places to eat in Destin. Their restaurant is perfect for a nice meal right on the water. When you’re finished eating right outside is the fisherman’s warf, full of charter boats for fishing excursions, sight seeing, and interactions with marine life. I specifically remember one boat. When I was younger my family and I went on the glass bottom boat and it was a wonderful way to see everything around you, well under you! Part of this boating experience was also getting to interact with dolphins and was so amazing getting to see them jump right next to us as we floated by. If you ever find yourself in Destin, I highly recommend it. As for shops, the fisherman’s warf also has plenty to choose from, but if you really want some great name brand stores the Destin commons is where it’s at. The Destin commons is like stepping through the doors of the mall of America except outside as a giant strip mall. My personal favorite store is the Bass Pro Shop for their big fish aquarium with the little puffer fish. Another one of my favorite spots is the Baytown warf. Inside a giant housing community as a small place called “the village” full of shops, restaurants, and outdoor games. It’s so beautiful here to me because of the many docks they have leading out to a view of the bay. You can also catch a glimpse of paradise from one of the tree houses they have for public use. It’s the perfect place to unwind, have fun, and watch the sunset. I fact the last time I was here having a margarita on the dock looking at all the boats and a dolphin came into the bay and greeted everyone standing by.
Even though none of these locations, restaurants and stores have asked me to say any of this, I will never get tired of bragging about my home away from home. It is truly a piece of paradise that never ceases to amaze.
Until next time ~ Kaylinn.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb