Daytona Beach Bike Week 2009


Advertisement
Published: February 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The first Florida rest areaThe first Florida rest areaThe first Florida rest area

Pausing to notice I'm in Florida - 114 miles down, 411 to go. I must be off.
I took my time about loading, hoping the rising sun would warm the Gulf Coast landscape quickly. I fired the engine at 7:25 a.m., gassed at a Shell station in Gulfport, got onto eastbound I-10 and settled in for a day in the saddle.
This was the first time I'd ridden any part of I-10 along the Gulf Coast on this bike and the ride began to feel like an adventure somewhere after Mobile, as I crossed into the Florida Panhandle.
I stopped at the first rest area inside Florida for a snack, to check in with my wife and to shoot a photo of the bike with my phone.
Lunch was a hasty one at the Chipley, Fla. Wendy's.
I turned south on I-95 at Jacksonville, finally shedding my jacket liner somewhere north of Palm Coast.
The Holiday Travel Park was right where I expected it at Exit 278 and I arrived right at sundown - 6:30 p.m.
I registered, set up my tent and found BMW friend Tim Hutchins, who was serving his special Memphis-style barbecue.
The campground has wifi and I watched a guy using his Acer netbook, wishing mine had arrived in time for the trip.
I
Lunch at Wendy'sLunch at Wendy'sLunch at Wendy's

In Chipley, Fla., just north of I-10.
covered 553 miles today with a maximum speed of 96.6 mph. My average speed was 66.1 mph. Total time: 10:18, moving time: 8:22, stopped: 1:55.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Holiday Campground LoungeHoliday Campground Lounge
Holiday Campground Lounge

Very comfy and with wifi. Wish I had my netbook.


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb